Can 2006 MacPro take larger disks? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 15th, 2011, 11:05 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Can 2006 MacPro take larger disks?

I think I know the answer to this question, but I have a 2006 2.66 Intel Quad Core MacPro and have the storage maxed out with 750GB drives. Originally it was stated when I purchased the MacPro that the largest disk it could take was 750GB.

Is this due to the fact that the largest disk made at that time was 750GB?

If this is so, then I should be able to install 2TB drives in the MacPro, correct?
This would be great as I am moving to AVCHD shooting (Sony NX5U) and will be transferring AVCHD footage to an external drive for backup and also to my edit drives as well. But I will also be converting all of the AVCHD footage to ProResLT for editing in FCP.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2011, 11:13 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Re: Can 2006 MacPro take larger disks?

This is far from an authoritative answer but I recently successfully mounted two 1.5TB Hitachi SATA3 drives in a G5 tower (they are operating at SATA1 or 2... I can't remember which buss the G5 supports), which is of course older than your Intel box.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2011, 02:21 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 93
Re: Can 2006 MacPro take larger disks?

I have the same MacPro and I have two 1TB and two 2TB disks in there. No problems. I remember reading that too. I assume that was just the largest disks available at the time.
Ryan Postel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2011, 02:33 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Re: Can 2006 MacPro take larger disks?

Thanks for the confirmation.
That's what I thought as well. I can see the RAM max being an issue, due to the motherboard.
But hard disc capacity seemed like it shouldn't be an issue with a motherboard or processor.

That's most likely the same issue in regards to a 2-drive external RAID enclosure, which also only says 1TB drives. As 1TB drives were the largest available at the time of the enclosures production.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network