Removing pops from a sound track (FCP) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2011, 05:09 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manosque (France)
Posts: 94
Removing pops from a sound track (FCP)

Dear All,

There is an annoying little pop in a sound track, that appears in a short trailer I edited. It's in a piece of background music and wasn't there in the original. You can see the "pop" in the thin blue line that runs the length of the trailer edit (not sure what the blue line is called?) which indicates when video and sound need rendering. The pop shows up as blue, not red. Does anyone know how to remove the pop?

Many thanks
Simon
__________________
www.theholidaymoviecompany.com
Simon Glidewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2011, 05:46 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 60
Re: Removing pops from a sound track (FCP)

Was the pop introduced on export? Or does it appear when you drag the audio track into an editing timeline? If the former, re-export; try changing the audio export format to see if it happens again. If the latter, then convert the audio into a different format before importing into FCP to see if it replicates (if the audio isn't in AIFF format when you bring it into FCP, covert it to that format first, as FCP likes it best. If the audio is already AIFF, try WAV).

The problem seems like it's in your audio file. Sounds to me like maybe FCP doesn't like the audio for some reason, and when it renders the audio, it creates the pop, which is an error (or some audio format issue that FCP doesn't like, which happens often, and among many unpleasant effects can also result in popping) in the original audio file that isn't audible until imported into FCP.
Allen White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 04:38 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: Removing pops from a sound track (FCP)

For the avoidance of any doubt, open the original music in Soundtrack Pro and look at it. Re-export from Soundtrack Pro at 48khz as a wave file then re-import that to FCP. That usually fixes any import problems I've seen.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 04:09 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
Re: Removing pops from a sound track (FCP)

Follow the steps in this video, if you have Soundtrack Pro.

YouTube - Removing audio pops in Final Cut Pro
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network