Nudge Audio less than a frame at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 16th, 2005, 09:31 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12
Nudge Audio less than a frame

Is it possible to nudge the audio tack in FCP by a partial frame? Sometimes when edting music the audio track can be off by just a tiny bit and the sound will reverb, or the picture and sound will be off by less than a frame. This is primarily noticable when editing music videos.
__________________
Steve B
Set It off!
Steve Barcik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 09:45 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
As far as I know this isn't possible, unless it's a feature in the new version.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 10:28 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12
Nudge audio less than a frame.

Is there a possible work around by adding 1/80th of a second to the front of a track? How could that be done?
__________________
Steve B
Set It off!
Steve Barcik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 10:33 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
I don't know, audio just isn't my thing... but they used to include Peak DV which is an audio program with earlier versions of FCP. Now maybe Soundtrack has replaced that? But I think the idea was that you could easily send your audio to the other application, make tweaks like this, then bring it back into FCP.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 11:12 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
I believe it is possible. This exact question came up at the FCPUG meeting in July. Problem is, I can't remember how they demonstrated it. Info should be available in the manual though. Specifically, they wanted to edit audio within a single video frame. If yoiu have FCP Studio, you can always send it to Soundtrack Pro, and sync it up in that application.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2005, 04:06 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 121
you could put a very short delay or echo filter on the thrack, mixed 100% wet. the echo filter lets you set a feedback of 10 milliseconds.

a dedicated audio app would obviously be the better way to do things. soundtrack would be fine.
Nate Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2005, 03:03 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: McLean, VA United States
Posts: 749
Yes, you can change edit points sub-frame. Open the clip in the viewer and then move the scrub bar while holding the shift key down. You can apparently move in 1/100 frame increments. Look in the index under "subframe".
A. J. deLange is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network