Refused Final Cut support for using NX5U at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 4th, 2011, 12:28 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, NY, USA
Posts: 106
Refused Final Cut support for using NX5U

I have a Sony NX5U camera, which I've been using for months. I use ClipWrap to convert the files to .mov, and I've been having no problems.

Today, I'm having trouble with getting Qmaster to segment jobs, so I called Apple's Pro Apps support.

Even though it's been working for months, and Qmaster is many workflow steps away from the camera, and it's almost certainly unrelated, Apple refused to help me because the camera isn't on the "approved devices list".

I thought Apple was supposed to have good support, but apparently not.
John Meeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2011, 12:38 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,778
Re: Refused Final Cut support for using NX5U

Quote:
I use ClipWrap to convert the files to .mov
mov is a container, not a codec. Did you just change the container to mov or was the file transcoded?

Quote:
Apple refused to help me because the camera isn't on the "approved devices list".
Sorry but this doesn't make sense. The codec is not specific to the camera. You're not asking for camera support you're asking for codec support. The camera records AVCHD as do a large number of other cameras.

If you asked them about AVCHD why would the camera be relevant information for support?
Something about your post doesn't make sense since the specific camera model shouldn't even be relevant. It isn't even a camera support question.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2011, 03:20 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
Re: Refused Final Cut support for using NX5U

I agree with Craig. As long as the camera is going along with the codec's specs & Apple supports the codec, they shouldn't care what camera you're using.

Maybe the guy at Pro Apps was having a bad day?

The best advice I can give is to stop thinking about the camera being in the equation. Its smart to try to figure out all the places that could be causing the problem, but I'd start & Qmaster & work backwards until you hit the problem. Can you try to segment some jobs from a DV file? DV is so basic & light weight, that I find it often to be a good basic thing to test with.
__________________
Nothing says you're a serious video maker like S-VHS
Zach Love is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network