Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2011, 12:49 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia, United States
Posts: 159
Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?

I have an interview that I marked up with markers. I then dragged them to a bin to create subclips, but most of the clips have lost the names they should have - the name of the marker - and instead have taken the name of the larger clip that they come from. This is not true of every marker. anyone know why this is happening?
Noam Osband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2011, 01:13 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Re: Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?

Basically because markers in FCP have NEVER worked right.

Not what you wanted to hear, I know.

Wish Apple would have spent more time fixing stuff that matters instead of...

Never mind...
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2011, 05:50 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?

When I drag the markers from a clip to a bin, I get subclips for each marked section named "marker x from clipname" as shown in the attached. Even when I name the marker. Are you saying you don't get the "marker x"" part?
Attached Images
 
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2011, 12:33 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia, United States
Posts: 159
Re: Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?

I attached a screen shot that shows the problem. You can see my clip and see markers with names. Above the master clip, you see the subclips that were created when I hit Command-U. This will happen if I do this or if I simply drag the markers. But, as you see, the name is not the name of the marker. It's the name of the clip with the word "subclip" at the end.

Thought? This is so frustrating. It was working fine before and now it seems like something has changed, some preference I didnt even know I could change.
Attached Thumbnails
Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?-screen-shot-2011-09-19-1.30.38-am.png  
Noam Osband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2011, 07:52 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?

This is a stretch but the double quote character might be triggering a bug. Is this the first time your've used it in a marker name?
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2011, 09:29 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia, United States
Posts: 159
Re: Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?

Well, I just made a marker with one word for the name and it worked fine...........but now I just made a subclip out of this marker name, one that also has no quotation marks, and it didnt work. Everything below this line is the marker name. It's a translation of the clip. Perhaps other special characters are problem, like brackets?




maria: when she was 2 years old. She's gone to school, she speaks english. Here at home she used to speak a lot of english. Everthing, everything in english. At a certain point, i liked it, i used to tell myself my girl speaks [00:02:15.05] m: english, which is something that I couldn't do. But then we thought to ourselves, and we reacted, we told ourselves,she goes to school and learns it. She's too young. What we should be teaching her is spanish because she will forget it and [00:02:30.07] m: i said from the door in, spanish. From door out, whatever you want because what we ingrained her (him?) with is where she's from...and our cultures
Noam Osband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2011, 05:03 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Why is the subclip name not the marker name when i drag the marker to a new bin?

Well given the evidence that the double quotes change the behavior, it's not such a stretch after all. I'd bag the question mark, colons and brackets. I don't know if it's an option with your workflow but I'll bet the whole thing quotes and everything will survive nicely in the Log Notes field rather than the clipname.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network