From Snow Leopard to Lion? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 7th, 2011, 12:00 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 480
From Snow Leopard to Lion?

Hey all. Searched through this forum (briefly), but have a simple question. Anyone upgrade to Lion? I'm still running Snow Leopard, and Final Cut Studio 3. Was just thinking of upgrading my OS. Or is tis a case where if I'm not having problems, why do something that might cause them?

Thanks,
Jeff
Jeff Troiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2011, 11:01 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York NY
Posts: 322
Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion?

No problems for me. I upgraded to Lion last month & FCS3 still runs like a top.
__________________
Post production is not an afterthought!
www.arniepix.com
Arnie Schlissel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2011, 04:36 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 81
Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion?

No problems for me either -- just completed the upgrade about two weeks ago on my Mac Pro tower and have been amazed at how smooth it all was...
Hamish Reid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2011, 12:40 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York NY
Posts: 322
Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion?

Worth mentioning, though, I recommend you do a complete backup of your system drive before you upgrade. I use Carbon Copy Cloner to make a bootable clone of my drives. This way, if something goes wrong you're only a format & clone away from being back where you started. And you can always boot from the clone if you if you need to be up & running without waiting for that to happen.
__________________
Post production is not an afterthought!
www.arniepix.com
Arnie Schlissel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2011, 09:44 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion?

The only thing I've noticed is that Motion seems to use up much more RAM than under Snow Leopard. I've switched most of my editing to Avid though, so I only am using FCP7 for ongoing projects, archived material.
__________________
always learning
www.phillippalacios.com
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2011, 10:28 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 480
Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phillip Palacios View Post
The only thing I've noticed is that Motion seems to use up much more RAM than under Snow Leopard. I've switched most of my editing to Avid though, so I only am using FCP7 for ongoing projects, archived material.

Thanks for mentioning. I have Adobe CS5, and pretty much use that for everything other then NLE (haven't taken the time to explore Premier. Bought mostly for After Effects and Photoshop.
Jeff Troiano is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network