inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2012, 07:06 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 574
inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how?

inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how?

i'm a novice with final cut pro 7.

the interviews were shot with 7d/h264 and ex3/1920/24p and everything was transcoded to pro res and put into a 1920/24p timeline.

the client just provided me with Bee roll.

it was shot hvx200/720/60p.

do i need to transcode all the Bee roll to pro res so all will be happy on the 1920/24p timeline?

how will the hvx200/720/60p footage look as 1920/24p footage?

any and all thoughts are appreciated by someone who is happy to learn from those more experienced.

be well.

rob
smalltalk productions
Rob Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2012, 05:30 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 209
Re: inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how?

I've been on FPC7 only a year but in my limited experience when using two different sources there has either been an issue with red render lines on the second footage source when in a perfect world it would all be green, or aspect ratio. Does the B roll fit the canvas window?

I don't know much about transcoding and this is the first time I have offered help to the forum instead of receiving it, but if nothing else it bumps your question to the top of the pile!
Cameron Poole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2012, 08:26 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 480
Re: inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how?

I worked on a project, where part of the footage was filmed in 30p, and some in 60p. I I'd transcode everything to prores, and all was happy. The only time I had issue, was when I tried to A/B part of an interview, using multi camera editing. It wouldn't let me use two different frame rates. I ended up using compressor to change the 60p to 30p.

Ive only been a FCP user for a year or so, but from what I've done, if you transcode everything to prores, you should be ok. If you drop 60p onto a 24p time timeline, ok. You may have to resize the 720 footage, and that could cause an issue, as far as resolution.

Hope hat helps a little,
Jeff
Jeff Troiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2012, 08:29 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how?

Converting all cameras to prores is the right direction. You may have undesirable motion artifacts with the 60p converted to 24 but as I understand it, 60 p is better than 30p to 24. Try it and evaluate it. But having it all in Prores 24p will make editing smooth

Last edited by Les Wilson; February 11th, 2012 at 01:20 PM.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2012, 10:17 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how?

Hey Rob,
Couple of ways to handle this. If the b Roll is only a few shots then rendering the shots on the seq time line might be the best solution if you don't mind the time signature change. You might have to resize the clip so it fills the frame or FCP may do it automatically for you. FCP should be able to render it
that way and that would be the least number of conversions. If you need the 60P footage to have the correct time signature on the 24P you will have to play with it. You can use external programs like Mpeg Streamclip to convert it and there are other options as well. Every method has its upsides and downsides. Sometimes rendering on the timeline ends up being the best way sometimes not
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2012, 01:24 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: inserting p2 720/60p Bee roll into 1920/24p timeline-how?

I missed the resolution issue. 1080p footage will transcode to 720p well. you could change everything to 720p instead of uprezzing the HVX footage. It's an option. Especially if you are going to the web for distribution.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network