Motion and a RAID at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 5th, 2005, 09:03 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
Motion and a RAID

I've been doing some research into setting up a RAID 0 and I want to know if, and how Motion would take advantage of it. Does anybody have any experience or knowlege they could pass on?
TIA
Nate
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 07:37 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Which problem are you trying to solve? I was under the impression that Motion
benefits mainly from fast (or multiple) CPU's. I could be wrong on that, however
(I'm not a Mac myself).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 08:56 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Unless you're working with uncompressed video, I don't think Motion will benefit much from a RAID, other than loading/exporting files a bit faster maybe. Rob is pretty much right from my experience, it's not a "disk bound" program. The CPU's are important - fast dual G5's are preferable, and you want to have lots of RAM. Probably the most important thing is the graphics card however, in fact Motion won't run at all on the stock G4 graphics cards from a few years ago.

What are the specs on your system?
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 02:40 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
Rob and Boyd thanks for the replys. I'm running a dual 1.8 G5 with a radeon 9600 and 1.5 gigs of ram. I realize a new graphics card and more ram are in order :) and I am starting to run out of HD space so I was trying to determine if a RAID would help me at all any more than just another big external drive. I knew it probably wouldn't help much with FCP because I don't do a lot of uncompressed (I think).
Thanks again
Nate
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network