Distributed Encoding at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 5th, 2005, 11:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Distributed Encoding

I tried to hook my G4 and G5 together for the purpose of aiding render times with compressor. When I sent my first batch out I got a messsage telling me that I needed to have another copy of DVDSP on my G4.

Do I really need to buy another license for DVDSP???

Lewis

_____________________________
Fear is Faith it Won't Work Out
Lewis Lehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 07:43 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That might be very possible. But before you continue, to what format are you
rendering? If it is DVD/MPEG-2 I doubt you can do distributed encoding. As far
as I know, no consumer/pro-sumer (not even sure if there is such a thing for
the professional) software has that feature. The reason being that MPEG
encoding stores the differences between frames (both forwards and backwards),
it can't do this if frames are compressed by different machines.

In theory they could share information on this. But what happens if some
machines are faster than others etc. etc. This quickly becomes a programming
nightmare.

I would be really suprised (and very impressed) if compresssor / DVDSP supports
distributed DVD/MPEG-2 encoding!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 04:33 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
Compressor 2 does support this. You can check out the specs on Apple's website, where it claims that you can do MPEG-2 encodes on a network. It runs through Qmaster 2, which was, I believe, developed for Shake (definitely a pro app). I think if you don't have a SAN, you have to have copies of the file you're encoding on each machine. Lewis, could this be the problem you're having?

Edit: or maybe it's only supported in DVDSP4 for background encoding and not for Compressor 2. I can't remember.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2005, 07:02 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Interesting Zach. I will drill Apple for information at this weekends IBC event
here in Amsterdam.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network