Placing 4:3 into 16:9 in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2005, 07:01 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lewisburg PA
Posts: 752
Placing 4:3 into 16:9 in FCP

I have some 4:3 video that I want to place into 16:9 for that I can use the added frame for titling to one side or another of the 4:3.

When I do this in FCP the 4:3 comes out squashed a bit when rendered even though it looks OK in the Canvas window when still and expands when playing back on the Canvas. I assume there is a magic correction factor, but I am on a deadline and don't have a lot of time to experiment.

What is this best approach to correct the problem?
Peter Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 09:37 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
16:9 footage will alway look squashed on a 4:3 monitor; that's the way it should be. Inside FCP, aspect ratio correction is done so that it's properly proportioned in the canvas and viewer. But on an external monitor the anamorphic footage is directly passed through. Therefore you need a 16:9 capable TV or monitor to view it in the correct proportion.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 09:54 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lewisburg PA
Posts: 752
I have a 16:9 monitor. Understand that. Sorry, I should have mentioned that I am preparing a QuickTime for the Web. It's squashed in the Quicktime exports via export to Quicktime.

I have found that I can just change the size of the Quicktime with in the player and save that -- but I wonder if I am degrading the text.

If I can ever manage to FTP to my Web site this morning I post the clip and all can see what happens.

Thanks for the reply
Peter Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 11:36 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
Did you look at the distort settings for the 4:3 clip when it's in your 16:9 timeline? That could be the answer.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 11:53 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
If you're exporting to Quicktime for playback on a square pixel device (computer monitor) then you need to change the frame size to something which is actually 16:9. Otherwise you get 720x480 square pixels. See the following:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....43&postcount=2
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network