Will an iMac G5 work with HDV? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2005, 02:30 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 162
Will an iMac G5 work with HDV?

For editing weddings, will my iMAC G5 (1.8 Ghz and 756MB RAM) be able to handle it with FINAL CUT EXPRESS?

Is it really hard to edit HDV? Is it hard for me or is it hard for the computer?
-EDWIN
Edwin Hernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2005, 10:38 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Based on reports I've seen from Mac users, I'd say you could only do limited HDV editing on your current computer. With a fast dual-processor Mac and FCP5 your HDV editing experience should be like editing DV now, but HDV needs a *lot* of processing power to get that result.

One thing you can do with some HDV cameras is record in high-definition for future use but capture the video to your computer as widescreen DV, so you can edit on your current setup and then re-use the footage in HD later when you get a better computer. In other words, start building up an HD footage library now even if you can't afford a computer to edit it, and do all your editing and delivery in SD for the next year or two.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2005, 08:51 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 383
I've tried on my G5 iMac it's very sloooooooow! but it does work! I wouldn't like to do it every day though
Steve Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 10:26 AM   #4
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I have a single processor G5 1.6 ghz Power Mac and I know I need to get something faster. I just wish the dual dual-cores from IBM would ship (unless Apple is planning on waiting for the Intel switch).

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 12:38 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
I have to disagree with the rest of the fellas- the iMac G5 using iMovie works great.......just max out the ram and the machine will surprise you. I also have a G5 dual 2.5ghz so I have a baseline and the iMac version does fairly well. If you use iMovie you'll be using the AIC codec- if you have FCP5, you'll be editing natively- keep that in mind!

(same data rate as dv)
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 09:34 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
I agree with Steve. The iMac G5 will handle HDV fine. As a matter of fact, it's made for it. It's not considered a "pro" machihne but it is very capable. HDV actually has a slightly lower data rate than DV, however, the strain on the system comes from editing GOPs (group of pictures) rather than frame based editing for SD formats.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 10:29 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Perry
I agree with Steve. The iMac G5 will handle HDV fine. As a matter of fact, it's made for it. It's not considered a "pro" machihne but it is very capable. HDV actually has a slightly lower data rate than DV, however, the strain on the system comes from editing GOPs (group of pictures) rather than frame based editing for SD formats.
I agree with the previous two. Try to upgrade to at least 1GB of ram - it'll work great.
Patrick Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 05:45 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 13
We use an iMac G5 2GHz with 2gb of ram. Editing HDV in final cut pro 5 is pretty smooth as long as you don't do too many filters/effects/video layers.

If you can afford to upgrade to FCP 5, I believe it is well worth it for the native HDV capabilities.

I can't wait for HD DVD (Blu Ray or whatever), because when you work with HDV in FCP, on export it is HD MPEG-2 ready to be put onto the dvd.
Kurt Madel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 09:09 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 382
Fyi, you can already author HD DVDs with DVD Studio Pro 4 using HD Mpeg2 or H264 - that will work with future HD dvd players (the spec is already established - the hardware/media isn't).
Patrick Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2005, 08:24 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Jenkins
Fyi, you can already author HD DVDs with DVD Studio Pro 4 using HD Mpeg2 or H264 - that will work with future HD dvd players (the spec is already established - the hardware/media isn't).
Yes, but they are only playable on a G5 Mac (iMac included). I do believe, however, that a new JVC Pro HD DVD player (http://pro.jvc.com/prof/Attributes/p...&feature_id=08 red laser, not blue) will play these discs if the content in MPEG-2 (i.e. HDV footage from Sony cameras at 25Mbs). It is interesting though, because Sigma makes the chip for this and has announced a chip that will decode H.264 at HD resolutions. Also, it will be interesting to see if this player will work with the menus of a DVD Studio Pro 4 HD DVD or if it will only play the content.
Kurt Madel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2005, 10:35 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
iMac G5 2.0gz 1GB ram, working perfect. FCP5 DVDSP4
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2005, 10:40 PM   #12
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Awesome.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2005, 06:16 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lewisburg PA
Posts: 752
New annoucements on Apple products are due on Wend the 12th of October. One of the rumors is that a bump-up in G5 speeds and perhaps even the dual-core will be announced.

http://www.appleinsider.com/article.php?id=1306
Peter Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2005, 08:30 AM   #14
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
We'll see what happens, but I'm optimistic.

For now, good to know a G5 2.0 ghz works with HDV!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2005, 04:18 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt Madel
Yes, but they are only playable on a G5 Mac (iMac included). I do believe, however, that a new JVC Pro HD DVD player (http://pro.jvc.com/prof/Attributes/p...&feature_id=08 red laser, not blue) will play these discs if the content in MPEG-2 (i.e. HDV footage from Sony cameras at 25Mbs). It is interesting though, because Sigma makes the chip for this and has announced a chip that will decode H.264 at HD resolutions. Also, it will be interesting to see if this player will work with the menus of a DVD Studio Pro 4 HD DVD or if it will only play the content.
Hrm.. I think you're confused a little or I wasn't clear. The HighDef DVD spec is already established. Meaning, the format of the data that will be written on the disc already exists and is set. It's why you can author HD DVDs with DVD Studio Pro - these aren't some funky format that only work with Macs. THOUGH, it just so happens the only guaranteed to work HD DVD player only comes with a Mac. They will play fine when a hardware player finally exists to play them, or a good PC based player comes along - simply because the data on the disc is authored to the standard and HD/Blueray players will be backwards compatible with DVD+-R/DL media. It really doesn't have anything to do with HD-DVD or Blueray either; those are just the media - the data on either disc will be the same. The data works. The hardware/media doesnt [yet].

I hope that makes more sense.
Patrick Jenkins is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network