Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 22nd, 2013, 06:52 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 450
Final Cut Studio 3 and Mavericks - any news

Anybody try FCP on Mavericks?
Kevin Spahr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2013, 08:15 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 450
Re: Final Cut Studio 3 and Mavericks - any news

Got some news:
I dug out an old hard drive and installed Mavericks and then did a new install of FCS3 and it fired right up and I opened an existing project just fine. I didn't have time to put it through an exhaustive test but it looks good!

I'm planning to put Mavericks on my MacPro1.1 (a bit of hacking is required) when I get a chance. I plan to put the OS and all the Apps on a SSD and my home folder and everything else on a spinning disk in order to keep my old workhorse in the stable for a while.
Kevin Spahr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2013, 09:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas/Hong Kong
Posts: 154
Re: Final Cut Studio 3 and Mavericks - any news

I upgraded to Mavericks without fresh install from ML, everything works fine.

Beware, Qmaster does not appear to work with Mavericks, when you click on the Qmaster pref panel, it gives you an error. And Compressor (for me the program itself works) cannot use the Qmaster clusters, so I haven't been able to get compressor to use all my cores to encode.

I've searched on google, and other people are having the same problems with Qmaster.

I may switch back to ML tonight via my backup.
Sam Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2013, 09:22 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,194
Re: Final Cut Studio 3 and Mavericks - any news

On my MacBook Pro Compressor does use the cluster already created under Mountain Lion but the Qmaster preference panel does not work. Haven't tried to upgrade my Mac Pro since I have heard of issues with Blackmagic and AJA products. So it depends on what your system is. Should be okay for most people soon but not yet.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network