Medea SCSI HD causing capture problem in FCP HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2005, 05:04 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kuwait, Kuwait
Posts: 100
Medea SCSI HD causing capture problem in FCP HD

This is my system:

G5 2.5GHz
4G RAM
2x 120GB internal SATA
Medea 1.2TB external SCSI HD
ATTO ExpressPCI UL4D SCSI card
AJA KONA LS capture card
FCP 4.5 HD
OSX 10.3.9

My problem started when I wanted to capture 10-bit uncompressed to the SCSI HD. The capture screen would freeze on random frames, and I have to Force Quit it. So I captured a small portion (I stoped before it froze), and tried to play that video on the timeline. I had a horrible drop frames, and error msg saying that my HD is not fast enough to play 10-bit.

So I did a speed check for the SCSI HD (with KONA speed check utility), and got a result of: 10 MB/s for reading writting! So I updated all software and hardware (including SCSI card). Did the speed test again, and the result was: 170MB/s Write, 120MB/s Read. I know I could get better results (up to 200MB/s), but I'm happy with that so far.

Now, I tried to capture DV footage to the SCSI HD, and I'm facing the same problem! The Capture Screen would freeze in random places, causing FCP to freeze, and I have to Force Quit the program.

In the speed test, I graphed the results. The speed was constant around 170MB/s, but there was a sharp spike (1 frame long), where the speed drops down to 40 MB/s. I know that 40MB/s is still fast enough for DV, but do you think that's what causing the problem?

By the way, when I capture to the 2nd internal SATA HD, I face no problems whatsoever (even at DVCPRO50 compression). It only happens with the SCSI HD.

I wanna know if the problem is caused by "SCSI card, SCSI HD, or FCP", before I start contacting the companies.
Nawaf Alali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2005, 02:39 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kuwait, Kuwait
Posts: 100
problem solved

it turned out to be a Heat problem. I guess the room wasn't cold enough (i'm running 2 machines, SCSI HD, and bunch of other devices). When a SCSI HD starts heating up, it will starting giving problems. So I froze my room, and now everything is working fine.
Nawaf Alali is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network