What to look for in a powerbook at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2005, 03:28 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 329
What to look for in a powerbook

I am considering the benefit of a portable solution using final cut pro.
What should i look for in a powerbook, ie ram and space.
Also i would need to get SDI or at the very least component analog into it. Is this possible?

CHeers,
Ben Gurvich
Ben Gurvich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 04:06 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 329
I have just read the sticky section and its not looking good for SDI.
Ben Gurvich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 01:38 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Maybe the AJA IO could help you get SDI into your laptop?

However, I don't think you can get the disk space and speed to sustain it unless you get one of those FW800 RAID devices (GRAID I think). Definitely not portable, although you can use proxies/offline/media manager so that you can edit on your laptop without having to drag the RAID device around.

Media manager may be a little buggy with oddball framerates like 24p.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 02:57 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 329
So Im definately asking too mcuh in a portable system.

Heres an easier question.
Will FCP play back files with the media100 codec.
Basically Im looking at networking my own laptop to my works Media100. Cutting on my laptop and sending it back to my works Media100 for master to tape/xdcam etc.

Does this require a new post?
Ben Gurvich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 03:33 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I don't think this requires a new post as it's still your issue.

As far as Media100 goes, I know very little about it. I suppose it all depends if you can get the Media100 codec (or whatever they use) into FCP, which I'm guessing isn't possible.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 05:03 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 329
seems id have to convert all my footage prior to getting it onto the powerbook, wich would take forever, defeating the purpose!
Ben Gurvich is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network