BetaSP capture 8 or 10 bit? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 10th, 2005, 01:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 65
BetaSP capture 8 or 10 bit?

When you capture footage from a BetaSP deck, is it 8 bit or 10 bit uncompressed?
__________________
www.axiomadvertising.com
C. Byrne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 02:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
If your capture hardware supports both then you get to decide - one of the joys of analog. I think most people capture in 8-bit because 10-bit takes up more disk space, and currently it's only useful for effects because no one delivers content in 10-bit.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 03:22 PM   #3
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
I think you'll find that a lot of people do deliver in 10bit though - that's DigiBeta for you.

However, 10bit is way too good for BetaSP, and 8bit uncompressed is also way too good for it, although it will preserve the quality you started with. If your card has the option PhotoJPEG75% is a very good codec to use as it takes up little disc space and is more than visually lossless.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 07:02 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
Oh, I meant deliver as in DVD, broadcast, cable, satellite, etc. Or do end users actually watch 10-bit content if it's broadcast from DigiBeta? I thought that in actual delivery it's all 8-bit.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 07:14 PM   #5
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
You deliver it to the broadcaster on 10bit digibeta - who know what happens after that :-)

I think some stations dub your Digibeta to VHS before compression to MPEG2 before broadcasting :-)

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2005, 11:00 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
Dear Graeme,

I'm having this argument right now with a producer here.
We are corporate video department.
My mission is to create and distribute VNRs (video news releases)
His mission is a streaming in house LAN network video production.
He wants to capture 8 bit simply to free up RAID space.
(which has not been a problem so far)

I have always captured 10 bit to keep the quality at or near
BETASP levels, because I then reconvert to analog and deliver
BETASP. I do this because my video goes straight to the 5 local affiliates
and must match their on-air look seamlessly.
So far the video has matched perfectly.

Is 10 bit overkill?
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2005, 02:44 PM   #7
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
10bit is overkill for BetaSP. 8bit uncompressed is overkill IMHO. You can get practically perfect quality with PhotoJPEG codec at 75% or other such compressed online quality codec. Going down to DV is going too far as that's compressed a little too much.

I don't think you'd ever see a difference between 8bit and 10bit capture. Only way you'd see an improvement is mastering to DigiBeta instead of BetaSP.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2005, 11:13 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
It's kind of hard to see 8 bits of resolution.

Take a look at
http://www.glennchan.info/video/FCP/...t-original.png

In the boxes at the very left, the inner box is just one RGB value higher than the outer box. If the box were smaller, it'd become really really hard to see it.

2- However, don't draw the conclusion that 7 bit is as good as 8 bit (or than 8 bit is as good as 9 bit).
- Some LCDs are 6-bit and can't reproduce the image properly.
- Bit depth is related to gamma, which is different between computer and video, and different between different displays.
- Your display can't hit the full dynamic range of your eye.
- For acquisition, higher bit depth can make sense if trying to capture high dynamic range.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network