G3 Mac OS 9.x FCP 1.2.5 and Lacie d2 Extreme at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2005, 11:29 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia, Rest of the World
Posts: 20
Images: 3
G3 Mac OS 9.x FCP 1.2.5 and Lacie d2 Extreme

Help needed!
Due to Tsunami, earthquakes, terror attacks this is a crazy year for me and never saw the chance to upgrade my system. Yesterday I bought the Lacie d2 Extreme because I have some documentaries coming up to edit.
The G3 recognizes the Lacie.
But if I want to log and capture, the windows opens but thats it it will not say: Capturing Clip-NOW CAPTURING(press "esc" to stop). The harddisk indicator in the left upper corner next to the applesymbol is running continiously. Pressing escape has no effect. I can only use the powerbutton to stop everything! After restarting again the Lacie is filled up to 250GB!! with around 140 av-137(this is an example) quicktime files.
Is there anaybody there who knows whats the problem?
Thanks
Andre
__________________
Coordinator Eurovision Asia-Pacific
Andre Bentlage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 12:12 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia, Rest of the World
Posts: 20
Images: 3
What"s happening with dvinfonet??

Is this site becoming too big?
Were are the real users of FCP and Apple?
I had no reply at all on my last posts!
Pfff....
__________________
Coordinator Eurovision Asia-Pacific
Andre Bentlage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 12:21 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Sorry I missed your post Andre. Unfortunately you're running software so old that I suspect few of us are familiar with the issues. I'm not sure if MacOS 9 can use volumes as large as your "big disk" (it would probably see the disk but not recognize the full size). I know there are issues in FCP 4 where a crash can cause a disk to appear to be full, see the following:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=44189

But I doubt this applies to MacOS 9. My own experience with FCP only goes back to version 3 on MacOS 9. Perhaps you should post your questions to Apple's FCP support forum here:

http://discussions.apple.com/forum.jspa?forumID=939
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network