Problem with new LCD monitors and my Power Mac G5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 26th, 2005, 08:53 PM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Problem with new LCD monitors and my Power Mac G5

I bought two of these Westinghouse Digital LCD monitors:

http://www.macaddict.com/issues/2005/11/reviews/lcm

When I plugged in the first one, my Mac's power-on light was on, but the Power Mac G5 (1.6 ghz, 1.25 gb RAM) wouldn't boot and the light wouldn't go off. No problems once I unplugged the first LCD monitor. I plugged it into the second one and the Mac turned on once it was plugged in, but at least I had an image. But the computer was frozen; I unplugged and re-plugged it into the first LCD and had an image, but again, it was frozen.

Any ideas why this is happening? I'm going VGA into the DVI via Apple's adaptor.

Help and thanks,

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2005, 02:57 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
Do you have another monitor to check the computer with? To see if it will boot fine without the monitors connected. If it still has problems, it might be something else. If it boots fine, try loading the software that comes with the monitors, THEN try the monitors. One at a time.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2005, 07:15 AM   #3
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Yes, no problem. BTW, in my stupidity, I forgot to plug back in the USB hub, so it wasn't frozen. But get this, when I shut down (and I triple-checked), the monitor would cause it to re-boot.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2005, 07:54 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: san miguel allende , gto , mexico
Posts: 644
perhaps the monitor isn't working with your graphics card properly. some monitors won't work with macs because they don't support specific cards.Kurth
Kurth Bousman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2005, 09:38 AM   #5
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Hmmm, I'll have to check that out.

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network