shutter speed problem..... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 5th, 2005, 12:55 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
shutter speed problem.....

I shot a subject under flourscent lights at 120 shutter speed. I know it should have been at 60 but.....what can I do to tone down the light strobing in the scenes? FCP 3.
thanks

Last edited by Dean Harrington; December 5th, 2005 at 01:49 AM.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2005, 01:26 PM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth Scotland
Posts: 4
flicker problems

try using the flicker filter in the video bin within the effect. i know it is used for curing problems with inter-lacing, but i have used it cut out flickers on tv screens in the back ground of a scene with some success.
give it a go if you havent allready
Chris Rees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2005, 03:16 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
thanks......

I'll give it a try.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 08:33 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
Too late now, but Never shoot on shutter under flouresents.
even on 1/60 the colors will vacilliate.
Also, I have never been able to fix that problem in editing.
Its a hard, heartbreaking mistake that you only make once.
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 03:33 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
That's interesting Gary.....

"Too late now, but Never shoot on shutter under flouresents." I've got a setting on my DVX100 that allows for shooting under flourescents and I've
been able to clean up the flicker but....an update, I need to smooth out the
mouth action. I used the strobing filter under "Video" in the filter bin on FCP 3. The setting at 5 was found to do the trick. Thanks for the advice.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 03:56 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
Cool, live and learn.
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 05:28 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
update.....

Apparently, and please correct me if I'm wrong, the strobe filter in FCP 3 can be set to skip the flicked frames so that lighting can be smoothed out?
Now what to do about smoothing out the action? Any suggestions there?
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 02:43 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
update again.....

OK didn't look too bad using FCP with the strobe filter set at 6 but not that great either,so....I too the captured scratch clips into DV Film Maker and used the flicker setting at 60 under the 24p setting. Seems to clean the strobing up better! I've still got a little noice in the background. Any ideas on cleaning that up?
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network