No Audio in Print-To-Tape with FCP 4.5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2005, 11:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 89
No Audio in Print-To-Tape with FCP 4.5

I have tried this every which a way. I am trying to print-to-tape from final cut pro 4.5 to a sony DSR-11, and I am getting video but no audio. I have tried both built-in-audio and dv firewire settings for audio and sometimes I will get these warnings saying that the audi and video won't match. I cannot figure out what is wrong.
Joseph Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 02:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
Try setting your audio to "follow video"
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 04:40 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 89
where can I find the "follow video" option?
Joseph Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 05:09 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
Almost all the settings for inputs and outputs are in the Audio/Video Settings dialog. Either open the FCP pulldown menu or hit CMD+OPT+Q then go to the A/V Devices tab.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 11:58 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 89
Okay, I went into that menu and the only options I have for audio are Built-In and Firewire DV. There is a Firewire DV (DV50) option but it won't allow me to choose that one. When I try Built-In I get some weird message about the video and audio not matching.
Joseph Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 06:44 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
If you can't choose firewire DV then FCP is not detecting your deck properly. You could try hitting "Refresh A/V Devices" (OPT+F12) or just resetting your deck, but I imagine you have tried the latter.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 09:20 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 89
I can get to the built-In option and the Firewire dv option, it is the "Firewire DV (DV50) option that it won't let me use.

Just to make sure, if I print-to-tape and then put the tape in my XL-2 I should see the audio levels in the view finder right? The reason I ask is because that is the only way for me to check audio until my monitor comes in from B&H. I have done this and not found any audio levels.
Joseph Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 02:46 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
You don't need the DV50 option with an XL2. I've never used an XL2 as a deck, but most cameras won't show you audio levels on the camera when you have them in VTR mode. The audio meters only show up in camera mode. If you are recording over firewire then it shouldn't matter - FCP's meters will be accurate.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 04:38 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 89
Oddly enough, I fixed the problem. I am not sure how but if I go into the log and capture window, I can play the tape and hear the audio on it. I have not idea why it won't play on my camera in VTR mode. It shows the 16bit audio sign and 30p framerate in the viewfinder and both flicker when there should be audio but nothing comes out, and I can go onto another tape and hear audio jsut fine out if the camera. Weird.
Joseph Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 05:05 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 171
make sure you have the Down-mix icon checked in the audio mixer window when printing to tape.
__________________
esquared
Eric Emerick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2005, 10:11 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 89
What will happen if I don't?
Joseph Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2005, 10:58 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 171
as I recall when I went thru this process for the first time awhile back, you will get no sound, only video.
__________________
esquared
Eric Emerick is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network