upgrading to FCP 5 - upgrade to OSX 10.4 needed as well? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 8th, 2006, 08:08 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 27
upgrading to FCP 5 - upgrade to OSX 10.4 needed as well?


I'm currently running FCP 4.5 on OSX 10.3.9. I am about to order the upgrade to FCP 5 but I was wondering if I also need to upgrade the OS as well. 10.3.9 is running like a dream, and I've read some negative reports about 10.4.
I know the specs for FCP5 say it runs on 10.3.9, but am I missing out on anything if I don't upgrade the OS? I'm inclined not to.
Thanks in advance,
Michiel van der Zeeuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2006, 08:42 AM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,463
I gather that it works, although people initially had some problems. Hopefully they've been fixed with incremental updates. You do need QT7 however, and when you install FCP5 it will replace QT6 with QT7 pro.

I upgraded to FCP5 not long ago, and went to MacOSX 10.4 at the same time. It was really pretty painless. There may still be a rendering glitch in one of my high end 3d programs, but that was pretty much the only problem I remember. However I cloned my boot drive and then reformatted and did a clean install of 10.4 for starters. Then I let OSX migrate all my files from the clone drive as part of the install. The final step was installing FCP5.

I am generally like you though, I don't like to fix stuff that ain't broke, so I'm usually about a year behind in operating system updates. But in this case I just thought it made sense to be on the latest OS to avoid any possible incompatibilities down the road. 10.3.9 has been called "bastard child" by some people since it contains parts of 10.4 and is known to be problematic with some applications.

You might seek additional input from Apple's FCP support forum before making a final decision:

Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2006, 08:44 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
10.3.9 and QT 7 or later. I ran FCP 5 before upgrading to Tiger with no problems.
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network