Picture slideshow in FCP HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2006, 11:46 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 93
Picture slideshow in FCP HD

Hey everyone. I'm having trouble with my output when doing a videoslide show. I put the hi-res pics in the timeline and play it. The playback is not sharp and is a bit blurry but when paused or stopped it clears up fine. My output monitor shows that same result. When I export out to dvd i figured it go away but same thing. What am i doing wrong people? Thank you in advance for your responses.
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5
2.5GB RAM/500GB/9800 256 Radeon/DeckLink Pro
FCP HD/AE 6.5/DVD Studio Pro/Motion
Canon XL2/Glidecam 4000/SteadyStick
Sony PVM-1350 Monitor
Mike Phan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 12:00 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Phan
Hey everyone. I'm having trouble with my output when doing a videoslide show. I put the hi-res pics in the timeline and play it. The playback is not sharp and is a bit blurry but when paused or stopped it clears up fine. My output monitor shows that same result. When I export out to dvd i figured it go away but same thing. What am i doing wrong people? Thank you in advance for your responses.
I've had the same issue. I believe it's because FCP is rescaling your images to fit the 720X480 frame size. Either re-size the photos before import, or use the Ken Burns effect to have them pan, scan and zoom to a musical background.

-gb-

p.s. If you're not familiar with the KB effect, go into iPhoto and do a slideshow and select the checkbox for KB effect. Watch the slideshow.
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 05:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 200
Mike,

I had to produce a couple of mistakes before I figured this one out...

Go into the Sequence Setttings for the slideshow that you are creating and change the Field Dominance to None.

Until you do this FCP is trying to interlace a progressive frame = bad results.
Patrick Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2006, 02:02 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 93
Thanks everyone for helping out. I will give that a try. Because everything else in my video is great but the pictures really scaled down the quality big time! Thank you again!
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5
2.5GB RAM/500GB/9800 256 Radeon/DeckLink Pro
FCP HD/AE 6.5/DVD Studio Pro/Motion
Canon XL2/Glidecam 4000/SteadyStick
Sony PVM-1350 Monitor
Mike Phan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2006, 06:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 93
Hey Greg my images are straight JPGs from my gf's digital camera. They are set to 2560 x 1920. What should i do from there. I tried to set the Dominance to None and still not working. I don't know how much to rescale the image to, should it be to 720x486? Its very annoying for me right now. I really appreciate your feedback guys. Thank you again.

Mike
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5
2.5GB RAM/500GB/9800 256 Radeon/DeckLink Pro
FCP HD/AE 6.5/DVD Studio Pro/Motion
Canon XL2/Glidecam 4000/SteadyStick
Sony PVM-1350 Monitor
Mike Phan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2006, 08:16 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 200
I assume thaqt you have check to make sure that your playback settings are on hi? It could be the case that FCP is lowering the resolution to keep the frame rate up during playback. Have you tried to do a complete render to double check everything?
Patrick Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2006, 03:22 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 93
Yes I have, and even burn to dvd just to make sure it wasn't my monitor. Ahhhh this is really frustrating. Any other suggestions? How big should my pictures be?
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5
2.5GB RAM/500GB/9800 256 Radeon/DeckLink Pro
FCP HD/AE 6.5/DVD Studio Pro/Motion
Canon XL2/Glidecam 4000/SteadyStick
Sony PVM-1350 Monitor
Mike Phan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network