converting ntsc to pal at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2006, 05:54 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
converting ntsc to pal

A friend of mine somehow shot some material with an ntsc camera, or so it says on my DCR-HC17E PAL. I tried playing it on my canon but then I get nothing. So it will play on the sony camera, although it is a strange sort of black and white(hardly any color in it)
I want to help her put the recording back to pal. Can fcp convert it to pal? The quality is not really very important, she would be glad if it can just be salvaged.
But I have some technical questions
1) it does play on my pal camera but the log and capture window does not show any video...I have tried ntsc settings and pal settings.
2) does that mean I will have to find a proper ntsc camera?
3) even if I do can I somehow output the material to pal? and do I need to capture in NTSC(seems logic)


David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 06:24 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
It's a PAL only Camera so it won't play NTSC tapes back properly as you found out. Try renting/borrow a DSR 11 deck which can play out NTSC, or a new Sony Z1 camera which you can switch as well.

If you wanna do a good conversion in FCP, go buy Nattress' plugins: . It has a conversion tool which works very good. So you've to capture in NTSC, and via the plugin you can use the material in a PAL timeline.

Groeten uit Rotterdam!
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 05:46 PM   #3
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,461
Just noticed there's also an article in the current (March) issue of MacWorld magazine about converting formats using Compressor 2 on the Mac. I gather this is slower than Graeme's standards conversions, but it is included with FCP 5.

But Vincent is correct, you'll need an NTSC camera to capture the footage. Or you could use a Sony HVR-Z1 which is switchable between PAL and NTSC.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 06:50 PM   #4
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 121
compressor2 does pretty good frame interpolation, as far as i can tell. it apparently uses the engine from shake to do this. i haven't converted between international standards, but i've used it to make 60i material slo-mo, and it looks pretty good. there's an article about doing this in compressor here:

it is SSSLLOOWW, though, so be warned.
Nate Ford is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network