Mac virus found at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 16th, 2006, 09:28 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Mac virus found

Hey, it's about time we started catching up with Windows and got a virus all our own! As it turns out, this one isn't too scary...

http://yahoo.reuters.com/stocks/Quot...&symbol=AAPL.O

Quote:
"This first Macintosh OS X threat is an example of the continuing spread of malicious code on to other platforms," said Vincent Weafer, senior director at Symantec Security Response, in a statement.

The worm will not automatically infect Mac computers, but will ask users to accept the file, Weafer said.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2006, 10:25 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
That's a burn.
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 01:38 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 93
Just to comment that, Yahoo did not fully research the issue. This virus is a very low threat and has only seen them on the first revs of the Intel-based Macs. I'm not really a fan of Intel and hope to get my hands on the quad before they stop selling that and switch fully to intel. That's my 2 cents.
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5
2.5GB RAM/500GB/9800 256 Radeon/DeckLink Pro
FCP HD/AE 6.5/DVD Studio Pro/Motion
Canon XL2/Glidecam 4000/SteadyStick
Sony PVM-1350 Monitor
Mike Phan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 08:03 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Phan
Just to comment that, Yahoo did not fully research the issue. This virus is a very low threat and has only seen them on the first revs of the Intel-based Macs. I'm not really a fan of Intel and hope to get my hands on the quad before they stop selling that and switch fully to intel. That's my 2 cents.
It's not the chip that brings the viruses, its the OS.
Brett Whited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 10:55 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 540
Yep, you can just visualize the Windoze users cheering! It is, as mentioned, pretty innocuous. There is also an article over at Macfixit:

http://www.macfixit.com/

All things considered, we have a l-o-n-g way to go to catch up. (BTW, who would use their editing suite to do IM?)
__________________
-- Vic Owen --
Vic Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 11:17 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
it's not the chip or the OS, it's the virus writers and, in this case, the users who click on it several times and enter an administrative password to get it to install.

it's a trojan horse that uses people's gullibility to distribute itself. This is not yet a virus...still waiting.

I can write an applescript that will do this same thing in about 5 minutes, and that's been available on the mac platform for years!
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 11:46 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 91
I agree with you Cole, but in the point he made, it was pointing to the hardware of the computer. I was simply saying that it is the operating system (software) that is the thing that viruses go for. They are just programs that take advantage of exploits in the code of the software. Macs don't "have" viruses because no one is going to look really hard for exploits, or write a malicious virus for an OS that only a very small percentage of people use. It's not worth their time. However, Macs are becoming more popular, so this is an issue on the rise... Sorry for being so nerdy, but hey, I'm an IT guy, so I have to be.... it's my job. :)
Brett Whited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 11:49 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 93
I agree its a SW issue but the OS X for coding a bit different to be on the new Intel chip, that's where the vulnernability is. So either way, i'm not sure how this whole Intel move is going to be. But whatever it is i'm not goin to hold my breath.
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5
2.5GB RAM/500GB/9800 256 Radeon/DeckLink Pro
FCP HD/AE 6.5/DVD Studio Pro/Motion
Canon XL2/Glidecam 4000/SteadyStick
Sony PVM-1350 Monitor
Mike Phan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 01:01 PM   #9
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vic Owen
All things considered, we have a l-o-n-g way to go to catch up. (BTW, who would use their editing suite to do IM?)
Uh... people who can only afford ONE computer or only have space for ONE computer. Vic, not everyone has hooped up editing 'suite'.

The same thing goes with the administrator risk. If you only have one computer then the user of that computer is probably going to be the administrator on it! Yes, I know that it is SOP not to be logged in as administrator but, out of the box, isn't being the administrator default? I would warrant there are many users who not bother to change from being administrator.
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 01:08 PM   #10
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Phan
I agree its a SW issue but the OS X for coding a bit different to be on the new Intel chip, that's where the vulnernability is.
Mike, I don't know how you can say "that's where the vulnernability is" when you have no idea how the coding would be "a bit different to be on the new Intel chip". This exploit is clearly on a higher level than OS / chip. It is not very sophisticated, relying on software (iChat) that runs on a higher level.

---

oh BTW, I've been informed that default root level access is not set on OSX, so I was wrong there. Anyway, hands up Mac Users. How many of you are right now using admin accounts? :)
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 01:22 PM   #11
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
This is the most detailed post I've found on it from the good guys at Ambrosia Software. (Back when I was a Mac user I must have played "Maelstrom" a million times).

Anyway this post is the first one I've seen that says that it appears like a simple jpeg, which encourages the user to open it in order to see what it is. Instead, it dearchives the trojan.

http://www.ambrosiasw.com/forums/ind...owtopic=102379
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network