go from 100% speed to freeze frame at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 3rd, 2006, 04:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 65
go from 100% speed to freeze frame

How do I go from 100% speed in a clip to landing on a specific frame and freeze framing it (changing the speed to 0%) and holding that freeze frame for 1 second?? I thought there was something simple like a speed overlay in the timeline, similar to the opacity overlay. But I can't seem to figure out how to bring that option up. Or is there another way to do this? Please help! This project needs to go out today!
Thanks!
__________________
www.axiomadvertising.com
C. Byrne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2006, 04:29 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Europe, Belgium, Oostende
Posts: 44
You didn't say what sofware you are working with.

In Final Cut Pro: go in the timeline to the last frame (frame you want to freeze) then choose modify -> make freeze frame. A copy (picture) of that frame will open in the vieuwer. make IN and OUT or type in a duration and put it in the timeline. there you go.
You may want to add the filter video -> de-interlace if needed.

hope this helps
Tim Commeijne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2006, 05:52 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 65
Sorry, I'm in FCP 4.5. I did what you said and it worked in a pinch. Thanks! But isn't there some way to see a speed overlay line in the timeline or am I just crazy?
__________________
www.axiomadvertising.com
C. Byrne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2006, 06:32 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Yes there's the "Time Remap" tool which works in the timeline. It looks sort of like a clock, and counting down from the top it's the 5th icon in the tool pallette. You will have to click on it and hold down to access the tool.

HOWEVER this is FCP 5.... I didn't think that tool was part of FCP 4.5, but I could be wrong. Look in the index of your user manual - it's in Volume 3 Part 2 "effects" in the FCP 5 manual (page 323 specifically).
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2006, 12:47 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
Here is a terrific tutorial (video tutorial) on how to use the Time Remap Tool:

http://www.proapptips.com/proapptips...96B8026C9.html

And a few other neat tutorials.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network