Logging (in FCP) when captured on disk at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2006, 05:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 123
Logging (in FCP) when captured on disk

When footage are captured on disk like fire-store, whatīs a good work-flow for logging? Is it by making sub-clips? Or is it possible to re-name clips directly in the timeline and then drag them to the browser?
Kristian Indrehus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2006, 06:40 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
I prefer making subclips.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography • Editor • Digital Film Production • 540.915.2752 • daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 01:30 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 123
Thanks for the reply.
Do you mean prefer like: itīs possible to rename in timeline, but I donīt ?
You see, I have a timeline cut up already, and itīs a multi-clip so it wonīt let me do sub-clips.

Thinking of it. Is it possible to make sub-clips of a multi-clip at all ?
Kristian Indrehus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2006, 07:59 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
You will find some excellent articles on the topic of workflow on Ken Stone's FCP site. This particular topic was discussed in the article called "Media Management". Look in the section called "Subclipping".

http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage...p_4_balis.html
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2006, 12:15 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 123
That link says nothing about multi-camera editing because itīs for FCP4
You need FCP5 to begin with. Same rules doesnīt apply for multi-clips.
Kristian Indrehus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2006, 02:22 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
Control Click the multiclip the select>collapse multiclip. This will turn your multiclip into an ordinary timeline. Do whatever subclipping you want then control click the timeline again and >uncollapse multiclip if you want to keep playing like that. Good Luck, Jason.
Jason Varner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2006, 04:52 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 123
Great! Thanks a lot :)
Kristian Indrehus is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network