FCP/HD100 - one clip at the time - workaround? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2006, 11:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
FCP/HD100 - one clip at the time - workaround?

Is there a workaround for this issue in FCP? I have tried adjusting my dropped timecode settings in User Prefs and so far "Warn after capture" seems to atleast retain the clip, while "Make new clip" loses the previous clips completely. But still, have to go clip by clip.

I seem to remember similar behavior with my FX-1 right after it came out, but that problem seems to have been worked out.

kaspar
Kaspar Stromme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 12:14 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Kaspar,

Can you please give us more info. What format did you shoot (720P30 HDV or DV) and what capture setting are you using (DV NTSC/PAL, HDV 720P or AIC 720P) ???
What position was your TC GEN switch in on the camera? (REC or REGEN ?)
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 01:14 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Sure, I'm capturing NTSC HDV 720/30P, TC GEN set to REC. I use the Tape Header feature as well to start each tape at 0. I am using the default HDV720/30P Easy Setup.

I saw this problem described in a previous post ( http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...light=fcp+drop ) with no resolution offered.

kaspar
Kaspar Stromme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2006, 06:05 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 139
You can't capture across clip boundaries with the JVC in FCP. Page 13 of this Apple document: http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Fin..._5.0_lbn_z.pdf

Make new clip should work. Did you upgrade FCP to the latest version (5.0.4)? What does it mean when you say that it looses the previous clip?
__________________
Please keep in mind that English is not my native language.
Ben De Rydt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2006, 11:54 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
I have 5.0.4 and what appears to happen is:


"On Make New Clip" setting displays a “scanning for media” message in the capture window between clips and at end of tape. If capture is stopped while the "scanning" message is being displayed FCP forgets everything it has captured up to that point. (no clips are created). So if I start a tape and let it run past the end of the last clip nothing gets captured.


Both "Abort" and "Warn after capture" settings give me a “stream problem” pop-up message when the it reaches a timecode break and capture stops. A clip is created in the browser. I then have to start capture again. So a tape with multiple clips becomes a real hassle to capture.
Kaspar Stromme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2006, 01:58 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaspar Stromme
So if I start a tape and let it run past the end of the last clip nothing gets captured.
Then don't let the capture run past the end of the last clip. Use log clip and specify an in- and out-point.
__________________
Please keep in mind that English is not my native language.
Ben De Rydt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network