PROBLEMS CAPTURING/ 4 camera shoot - HD100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 17th, 2006, 09:05 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Pedro, California
Posts: 108
PROBLEMS CAPTURING/ 4 camera shoot - HD100

I am trying to capture HDV 30p footage on FCP 5. What is happening is that as I am capturing the footage it detecs a break and starts a new capture, in other words by the end of my 45 min footage I have my footage chopped in a bunch of files, I am guessing it breaks capture everytime it detecs a drop frame. I used four cameras on my shoot, and to try to sync this file it is crazy. Is there a way I can get it to capture the whole 45min ignoring the dropframes? Please help its crazy.

Oh yeah I hot a Live evangelic seminar 5,400 people attended. Production was awsome I had one HD100 on a 25 foot jib over the crouds and on to the stage.... Post production is driving me crazy. Please Help

thanks guys...
__________________
Manny Rodriguez
Manny Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 09:10 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
A limitation of the HDV/GOP format. Every time you start/stop your camera there's a interruption of the group of pictures, FCP splits it up then. I'm not aware of a work around, beside capturing via a Kona/Blackmagic card and the component outputs. Maybe capturing via HDxDV will work? I don't know, someone else has to answer that..

Last edited by Vincent Rozenberg; March 17th, 2006 at 09:57 AM.
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 09:50 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Rozenberg
Maybe capturing via HDxDV will work? I don't know, someone els has to answer that..
Yes, HDVxDV will not split the clips.

--
Paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 10:39 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Pedro, California
Posts: 108
thanks Paolo... But what should my setting be in HDVxDV to Timecode settings: Drop Frame Timecode or Non-Drop Frame.

Just to let you know I used your TRUE COLOR SCENE FILE FOR THE SHOOT, IT LOOKED SO GOOD.
__________________
Manny Rodriguez
Manny Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 11:56 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny Rodriguez
thanks Paolo... But what should my setting be in HDVxDV to Timecode settings: Drop Frame Timecode or Non-Drop Frame.

Just to let you know I used your TRUE COLOR SCENE FILE FOR THE SHOOT, IT LOOKED SO GOOD.
I'm not sure about that myself. I set it to "Non-drop frame". Glad the scene file works for you.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 12:04 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
But... Isn't there one side effect to this route? The effect of recompressing your M2T footage captured via HDxDV to a FCP-compatible file? So loss in quality? Or you have to go uncompressed..
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 12:31 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Rozenberg
But... Isn't there one side effect to this route? The effect of recompressing your M2T footage captured via HDxDV to a FCP-compatible file? So loss in quality? Or you have to go uncompressed..
We've discussed the AIC conversion at length over in the FCP/HDV forum.
Here is the thread: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=61472

Actually, I'm going to move this from H100 over to FCP/HDV so you can get more input. We don't have a HDVxDV sub-forum yet, but hopefully Chris can create one soon.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 12:33 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo Ciccone
I'm not sure about that myself. I set it to "Non-drop frame". Glad the scene file works for you.
yes Non-drop for 720P30. Other modes should be unaffected by the setting.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network