Final Cut Pro 5 (FCP 5) Capture Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2006, 11:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 73
Final Cut Pro 5 (FCP 5) Capture Question

Hey everyone, I've had FCP 5 Studio for quite some time, never really had the time to learn much about it. I've joined www.lynda.com and got the full year premium subscription, WOW, it's great! But it doesn't answer the following.

I'm starting to capture video from my PD170. I did not shoot the footage in wide screen. The only clear way that the capture feature will show up is if I use anamorphic? When I capture using DV NTSC 48 kHz is shows up interlaced. When I use anamorphic it shows up non interlaced but streatched.

To describe what I am seeing in pictures please refer to the following link:
http://www.bigeyedeamedia.com/anamorphic.jpg

Please help! The video is due Monday and it's Saturday. I've done all the other editing in iMovie. Why did I choose now, because there isn't much left to edit, I just wanted to take advantage of FCPs awesome effects and settings. If not, I'll refer back to iMovie so that I can at least hit my dead line. Thanks in advance.
David Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2006, 01:14 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Your PD-170 footage *is* interlaced. I think the reason you're seeing a less interlaced appearance in the anamorphic version is simply because you're blending the scan lines by squashing the image. But I don't think you can really judge from stills in the viewer/canvas - what does it look like on an external NTSC monitor?

If the interlaced look really bothers you then you could deinterlace with Joe's Filters, Nattress or DVfilm. But I don't think there's anything wrong with that still frame since it was shot interlaced and has fast movement.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2006, 01:22 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 73
Good call. Since I'm new to FCP, I need to really judge the output not the input. Thanks for the info, but any futher info from anyone would also be appreicated.
David Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2006, 04:08 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Europe, Belgium, Oostende
Posts: 44
David,

This is normal. Your footage in the capture window is to show you where you are on your tape. It doesn't show it in full quality. Just capture it and then play it back in FCP. you will see there is nothing wrong with it. And ALLWAYS use a monitor, you'll see there is no problem with it.
Tim Commeijne is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network