Trouble Capturing from XL-H1!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2006, 07:05 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Trouble Capturing from XL-H1!!

Hi All,

I have Just installed my new FCP 5.1 on my Powerbook G4 and connected my XL-H1 to capture. I was able to capture using the Easy Setup HDV - 1080i50 without a problem. I played around with some settings to output back to the camera which I didn't manage to do, and subsequentely now I cannot capture.

I now get the following error message when I restart both my Powerbook and/or FCP.

Unable to locate the following external devices:

HDV (1440 x 1080) 25fps


On the back of the XL-H1 there is normally a small blue light comes on beside the Firewire connection whenever a Firewire cable is connected - this no longer seems to work.

Can someone give me some help with this please?

many thanks
Ray
Ray Allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 08:36 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Hello Ray,

Apple is going to release a new patch for that. I am having the same problem like you hopefully the release will take place soon.

Cheers,

Gilbert.
Gilbert Khoury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 04:07 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
What? Surely I can capture from my XL-H1?…can't I?

Is there a workaround to this?

Any suggestions welcome.

Ray
Ray Allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 01:01 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
Hi Ray try trashing your FCP preferences and then re-select the easy setup you were using before.
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 04:54 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Okay I have managed to unravel my situation. I thought I would share so it may help anyone else who may encounter the same problem.

Basically I had filmed a variety of different formats on one tape, and as a consequence I would capture, say HDV1080i50, and the footage on the tape would run on to DV16:9 then I would stop capturing, play around with my footage then go back to capture again. This time FCP would say it could no longer connect to the external device.

So what I had to do was change my settings to suit the footage on the tape - seems obvious now but very frustrating and confusing at the time!!

Hope this might help someone else.

BTW: I can capture HDV1080 25f within FCP - is this normal?

thanks for your help
Ray
Ray Allan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network