Final Cut Studio 5.1 on an eMac? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2006, 08:22 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Final Cut Studio 5.1 on an eMac?

Will Final Cut Studio 5.1 run on an eMac (17"/1.25GHz/768MB)?

Will it be able to handle HDV?

(I know it will be slow - but will it work at all?)

Thanks!

Chris!
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2006, 07:43 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Answer Time!

Short Answer: Yes

Also see: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=66032.

Chris!
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 12:47 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
I have been using FCP on my eMac for a few days now and it runs fine.

Editing HDV works too.

Obviously Motion doesn't run on the eMac, which is a bit of a shame.
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 02:28 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Uganda
Posts: 44
apple emac

Chris,
I seem to recall you need an extra gig of memory to run motion and that the processor speed has to be 833 mhz or higher. I was set to buy an e-mac a year ago but added the cig for a 17' G4. It has been a great tool .

Rand
Rand Blair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 02:47 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
According to the Apple site, "Motion requires the standard graphics card in any Power Mac G5, iMac G5, PowerBook G4 (1.25GHz or faster ), or flat-panel iMac (1.25GHz or faster)". Unfortunately, eMac's just don't have a sufficient graphics card. With a limit of 1GB of RAM, even if they had a good graphics card, Motion would be really, really slow.

Eitherway, if you are a serious video editor there is NO WAY you would even concider PURCHASING an eMac for editing. No firewire 800, only supports up to 1GB of RAM, no way of expanding/upgrading and no multiple monitors! It's just not an professional machine.

Having said that, back in the day they were "cheap as chips" and great for education purposes. Schools & Students loved them! But now with all the new Intel stuff out (like the Mini Mac and iMac), I wouldn't even concider purchasing one. Maybe Apple will release an Intel version of them with heavly updated specs? I'd guess not, as they have pretty much been replaced with the iMac (in my opinion).

Unfortunately I'm suck with an eMac at home until I can gather together enough cash to purchase an PowerPC (or Intel PowerMac when they are released in a few months).
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2006, 07:31 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hocking
Eitherway, if you are a serious video editor there is NO WAY you would even concider PURCHASING an eMac for editing. No firewire 800, only supports up to 1GB of RAM, no way of expanding/upgrading and no multiple monitors! It's just not an professional machine.
I have to say you wouldn't consider an eMac for HDV editiing maybe but FCP 4 works fine on them and so does AE 6.5 (before After Effects went all PC). And you can do pro work on them. My G4 desktop dual 1 gig has only one gb of memory and it works fine. Not being able to run "Motion" does not stop one from editing nor doing music with soundtrack nor any of the other things to my knowledge, correct me if I'm wrong. My friend and I started editing on DV iMacs when they still had colors.

-Nate
Nathan Brendan Masters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2006, 12:08 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Thanks for your reply Nate!

HDV editing on the eMac actually works fine. Bit slow, but it works!

FCP5.1 and Soundtrack seem to run great.
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 03:59 PM   #8
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Brendan Masters
(before After Effects went all PC).
-Nate
After Effects 7 is available for the Mac

Maybe you are thinking of Premiere which is now PC only...
Jason Van Cleave is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network