How far can I scale from HDV to SD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2006, 01:44 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montara, California
Posts: 108
How far can I scale from HDV to SD?

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to this...

I have HDV footage of sea life (dolphins, whales, etc) which I would like a bit closer. End product is regular DV Widescreen. I know I can "zoom in" in Final Cut--but is there an exact scale setting that equals DV resolution? I'm working under the assumption that I can crop off HDV's "extra" pixels without harming those that remain.

I'm trying to see how far I can zoom in without losing resolution (in DV).

Thanks!

--Darin
Darin Boville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 03:53 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 33
Drop your HD footage onto a normal SD timeline ("sequence") and you should get a 1:1 ratio. You can then move it around and get what you want in frame.

-Sam
Sam Sutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 04:19 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
In theory you should be able to zoom in as much as 200% and still get usable results, but in practice I've found 150% to be a more realistic limit.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 04:28 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Shaw
In theory you should be able to zoom in as much as 200% and still get usable results, but in practice I've found 150% to be a more realistic limit.
Kevin:

I've noticed that pulling in .m2t file into a SD time line, the zoom affect doesn't translate very well. When you use Cineform intermediate do you have better results ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 11:23 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos
I've noticed that pulling in .m2t file into a SD time line, the zoom affect doesn't translate very well. When you use Cineform intermediate do you have better results ?
I use Canopus Edius for editing, so my choices are native M2T or the Canopus HQ codec. Either one seems to work okay for zooming within the range I mentioned earlier, but Edius requires a workaround for SD output from HDV which causes problems with the zooming effect.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network