How tough is a fake TV screen to make for a scene? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 17th, 2006, 02:33 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
How tough is a fake TV screen to make for a scene?

Hey all -

Well I'm editing a scene for a feature shot on the HVX and there's a few shots with TV screens in the window of an electronics store shot at night (but there's plenty of ambient light from neon signs on the characters singles so glow is not an issue) that need to display video that was shot to emulate a news report. I can avoid the dolly shots on the tvs so that I only need to cover stationary shots but is this effect worth trying to pull off or is it better left to send out for fx? The only tricky caveat is my character walks past one of the tv screens in a shot we must keep from her OTS shot. My tools are FCP 5, After Effects 6.5 (on a pc that is) as I know nothing bout motion or shake.

Is this worth it, and can results be believable with a slight glare etc.?

Thanks guys!
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2006, 02:41 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Depending on the type of tv, you'll have to account for screen roll with shutter speed, you could shoot the news cast before hand and hook up a vcr or dvd player to the tv's in the window playing that on a loop. Cut to close up on the screen when she looks at the tv screen.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2006, 02:42 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
sorry, other than that, just bluescreen it...most tvs r dvd players will go to a blue screen when in standby anyway. Shoot that and overlay the other footage under it punching out the screen using keying softwware.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2006, 02:47 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Both are LCDs, one is wide screen aspect, the other 4:3. The scene has already been shot, it's a tight budget indie for Lion's Gate so there's no reshoots to get a blue screen on them, they are turned off televisions (nothing displayed, just black or dark gray) with white targets on them (marks in the corners and a + in the middle). I assume FCP 5 doesn't do keying? It'd be a job for After Effects?
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 05:15 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
It shouldn't be too hard of there's not that much movement. Where the character walks passed it would require frame by frame rotoscoping.

Whether or not yopu're going to farm it out is one of those deadline/budget balancing acts. How much will a firm charge ytou for it. It seems like the sort of thing a good effects studio could do in an afternoon, but it would cost you. You could probably do it yourself, but you've got to figure out how, do you have the time?

FCP does do keying, but it's the other effects you'll need in AE in order to make the keyed images gel into the shot.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 07:44 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 81
Try this:

http://www.chv-plugins.com/motion.html

I haven't used this particular plug-in, but do have several others by CHV and they work pretty well. Fairly cheap too!
__________________
Brad Richmond
Doubledogs Video
Overland Park, KS
www.doubledogsvideo.com
video@doubledogs.com
Brad Richmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 09:56 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Thanks guys, I'll check out these options, Dylan - yeah not sure if this is something I want to tackle and potentially be the hero, or end up looking like an ass when the tv effect looks terrible :)
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 01:30 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Is the frame static...or does the camera move...do any of the screens get obscured in the footage (actor, car, dog, baby stroller going between the camera and the screens)?
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 01:35 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Static shots, but she does move past the camera in one obstructing the tv just for a second...
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 10:03 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
You could cut to a close up on the screen when she crosses...the rest can just be separate video tracks scaled and skewed to match the screens of the LCDs.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network