Final Cut Studio 5.1 will not run on a Macbook! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2006, 04:53 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Final Cut Studio 5.1 will not run on a Macbook!

I'm glad I found this before I bought a Macbook. I guess I'll have to go for the Macbook Pro after all.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303782
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2006, 07:25 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
I'm willing to bet Motion is the problem and the other apps will run.....on my Mac Mini I was able to install FCS except Motion because of the video card specs- but if you're looking to edit- i bet the Macbook will run FCP....just a hunch.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2006, 07:27 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
I'm going to agree with steve, only because when you click on the link it says that FC STUDIO is not compatible and that is because motion needs a faster graphics card I'm willing to bet that final cut pro does actually run.
__________________
I have a dream that one day canon will release a 35mm ef to xl adapter and I'll have iris control and a 35mm dof of all my ef lenses, and it will be awesome...
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 04:09 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Uganda
Posts: 44
Motion on Mac book

Guys,

after adding an extra Gig of Memory on both my 15' and 17" mac books; Motion and Behaviors run fine.

Rand






_____________________________________________________________

failure can not contend with persistence
Rand Blair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 04:39 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basel area, Switzerland
Posts: 285
I think posters in this thread need to make a clear distinction between Mac Book and Mac Book Pro. The Mac Book Pro currently ships in 15" and 17" versions with high-performance GPU and dedicated V-RAM; the Mac Book comes in a 13.3" package with a shared-memory GPU (i.e. no dedicated V-RAM).
__________________
Ronald P. Pfister
halimedia - digital solutions and services
www.halimedia.com
Ron Pfister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 07:17 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Pfister
I think posters in this thread need to make a clear distinction between Mac Book and Mac Book Pro.
It's unfortunate that Apple chose this confusing naming scheme to replace "Powerbook" and "iBook" which were easily distinguished...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 12:47 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basel area, Switzerland
Posts: 285
Here's a recent post from Macintouch on the topic:

Quote:
Paul Irwin
People are overreacting to this. the 950 chipset is not your typical integrated chipset. it's a vista-ready, 1080p capable chipset. it supports coreimage and quartz extreme.
as for running final cut pro, honestly, i run it on far worse systems. including a 1 GHz single powermac g4 with a GeForce 4 MX with 64MB video... and i've used it on an older ibook g4 with 32 MB video RAM, and on a mac mini with the same. IT WILL RUN, or i will eat my words. there shouldn't be a problem, considering a large portion of FCP is on the processor and memory, and not the graphics card. with a dual 2.0 GHz and DDR2-667 RAM, FCP should be blazing fast on the macbook. i'm getting my "blackbook" this week, once my powerbook g4 buyer finishes the deal, and i'll post my results. don't expect motion to run (or run well), but DVDSP, soundtrack, FCP, livetype, compressor, etc. will run without a hitch, and it should be pretty dern fast, too.
http://www.macintouch.com/readerrepo...dex.html#may22
__________________
Ronald P. Pfister
halimedia - digital solutions and services
www.halimedia.com
Ron Pfister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 06:43 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
I'm glad I found this before I bought a Macbook. I guess I'll have to go for the Macbook Pro after all.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303782

You might want to read this first

http://www.creativemac.com/articles/...e.jsp?id=43717

Cheers

Hans
__________________
Remember, that English is my second language.
Hans Ledel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2006, 12:46 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans Ledel
You might want to read this first

http://www.creativemac.com/articles/...e.jsp?id=43717

Cheers

Hans
If Apple's intent in their statement was to persuade 'pro' app users to buy Macbook 'Pro,' it worked on me. I'm now the proud owner of a 2Ghz MB Pro. The size of the Macbook seems more ideal to me, but I do want the option to use Motion2. I got the X1600 with 256MB of VRAM and 1MB of RAM.
I still think the black Macbook looks awesome. It is too bad it doesn't have a dedicated graphics card.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2006, 06:00 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Agreed 100%. I like the black Macbook's size and would buy it if it would run Motion2........ashame. 13.3" is ideal for a small powerful Mac laptop.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2006, 06:09 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basel area, Switzerland
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Nunez
Agreed 100%. I like the black Macbook's size and would buy it if it would run Motion2.
It does run Motion! If you read the Creative Mac article, you'll see that it's simply the real-time playback of Motion timelines that's limited with the Intel 950 GPU. If it's not your main editing workstation, that's certainly something most users can live with.

FWIW,

Ron
__________________
Ronald P. Pfister
halimedia - digital solutions and services
www.halimedia.com
Ron Pfister is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network