Help! FCP unable to read move file just captured at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2003, 03:09 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 188
Help!!!

I'm trying to capture some footage shot yesterday on my GL2. I keep getting the error "Final cut was unable to read the move file just captured" this project it due tomorrow morning! Any ideas...
Mark
__________________
I'm humbled by the greatness that surrounds me.
Mark Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 04:11 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
What are the details, mac system, software versions, hardware details.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 04:37 PM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Mark,
Check your capture/scratch folder to see if FCP actually stashed the clip before it whined. If so, see if it plays in Quicktime. If so, try to import it into your project and be on your merry way.

I vaguely remember this happening to me quite some time ago.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 07:49 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 94
this happened to me once, i think i just restarted and recaptured the footage. in my case, the cache files wouldn't open in QT.

FCP3, !0.2.3
__________________
This is the way the world ends.
Brian Pink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 09:09 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 188
system

dual 1gig quicksilver, 768mb, OS 10.2.3, FCP 3.0.4., it didn't capture at all, although I just got done with another video the day before. I talked to a guy today that said something about the upgrades beining done in a wierd way (OS 10 I think)
Mark
__________________
I'm humbled by the greatness that surrounds me.
Mark Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 09:28 PM   #6
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Things that run through my mind:

Are you capturing to your system drive or to a separate drive?

Have you checked your capture preference settings?

What have you changed since the last successful capture?

Are you using the same camera?

Can you try using a different camera?
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 09:56 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 188
System Drive
I reset everything
nothing which is why it's so wierd
Only have one..

I think I may have it...hold on..
__________________
I'm humbled by the greatness that surrounds me.
Mark Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 09:58 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 188
Finally!!!

Try throwing away your FCP preferences and the MOA cache (both are found at --> System Folder/FCP User Data/

By doing this you may have to reset a few of your preferences up but your projects will remain untouched. This usually clears up any issues I have with freezes in both 9 and X.

I also totally deleted all files/folders associated with this project.

It WORKS!!!!!! Ye Haw!!!!

Now I have exactly 12 hours to finish and deliver it...

Thanks to all.
__________________
I'm humbled by the greatness that surrounds me.
Mark Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 10:03 PM   #9
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
The old preference trashing maneuver. I thought this went the wayside when FCP3 came along. Apparently not!

Congratulations Mark. Make some coffee and start slicing and dicing.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 10:09 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 188
A double expresso and I'm good to go!
__________________
I'm humbled by the greatness that surrounds me.
Mark Austin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network