Someone Help ME! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2006, 06:04 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Someone Help ME!

Ok, here is the situation. I've been filming lots of footage of my daughter (9 month old) since the day she was born. For the first 6 months of her life, I used a little 3 ccd panasonic 150 camera. A few months ago, I moved up to the Sony A1U. Nice camera.

Anyway, I want to start putting some clips together. My question is How can I get all of my Panasonic footage to be fully rendered in Final Cut Pro if I've used iMovie to capture it? I have the .DV extension on the panasonic files. I want to be able to import them into Final Cut fully rendered like when you import video through final cut and you don't have to render it when it goes to the timeline. I don't know if I'm explaining myself well enough.

I just hate having to render those clips every time I pull one into the timeline.

Anyone know what to do?

Thanks.
Aric Hendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2006, 06:16 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
Aric,

Bite the bullet and render. You can either render in FCP or render out of iMovie by exporting the clips under Expert Settings. From there choose, Export Movie to QuickTime Movie, Options>Settings>Compression Type: DV/DVCPro-NTSC. Make sure audio is 48khz 16 bit and size settings set to 720x480. After exporting, these clips will not need rendering in FCP if all your settings are correct.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2006, 10:01 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks Dave for the info.

Okay, time to start rendering 3 hours worth of baby clips. UGH.....
Aric Hendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2006, 01:06 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Another option is to dump all your clips into a new FCP sequence. use the Media Manager to copy + convert the clips.

The problem stems from iMovie recording in DV stream format and FCP recording with another formatting for DV. You may actually want to just re-capture everything in FCP if you didn't do any editing in iMovie. FCP will keep the timecode and can capture over timecode breaks like iMovie (although iMovie is more elegant when capturing over timecode breaks).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network