New G5 Quad need advise at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 17th, 2006, 11:26 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
New G5 Quad need advise

I just got my new G5 Quad with 4.5GB RAM, 250 GB system and 250 GB internal. I am running FCP Studio 5.0.4 ( all the latest upgrades ). I also have a whole bunch of FW drives (not all connected at same time). I wiil be working mostly HDV and DVCPRO HD.

Is there any setting that I should change to improove speed?
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2006, 05:11 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basel area, Switzerland
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Villalba
Is there any setting that I should change to improove speed?
Yes, get the FCS 5.1 crossgrade - it's noticably faster on PPC macs...

Out of curiosity, which graphics card did you get with your quad?

HTH,

Ron
__________________
Ronald P. Pfister
halimedia - digital solutions and services
www.halimedia.com
Ron Pfister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2006, 01:41 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Pfister
Yes, get the FCS 5.1 crossgrade - it's noticably faster on PPC macs...

Out of curiosity, which graphics card did you get with your quad?

HTH,

Ron
I have a G% Quad not the PPC and the graphic card that comes with it is the GeForce 6600
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2006, 01:50 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Villalba
I have a G% Quad not the PPC...

The G5 Quad *is* a PPC-based Mac (as opposed to an Intel-based Mac).
Duane Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2006, 02:13 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basel area, Switzerland
Posts: 285
PM G5 = IBM PPC970 family (in the quad's case it's the PPC970MP). It's PPC as good as it gets :)

The GF6600 is OK for FCP, but will give you mediocre performance in Motion or any other highly GPU-intensive app (e.g. Aperture, Maya, 3D-games, etc.). If this this does represent a bottleneck in your work, you may wish to look for a suitable PCIe graphics card as a replacement. At the moment, there are none available, but this will surely have changed by the end of the year.

That said, a beefier GPU will only minimally improve your FCP-performance, as FCP is mainly taxing CPU and I/O-subsystems.

HTH,

Ron
__________________
Ronald P. Pfister
halimedia - digital solutions and services
www.halimedia.com
Ron Pfister is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network