Shake Universal price reduction (merged threads) - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 20th, 2006, 07:07 PM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Tesh
Wow! Why such a big drop in price?
Maybe they feel sorry for us? :-)
__________________
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2006, 07:20 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Tesh
Wow! Why such a big drop in price?
Rumors suggest that Apple is likely going to create a new replacement for Shake due in 2008. Sounds plausible as Shake is the application that is least like other Mac apps down to the framework.

They have the tools to create a Final Cut Suite system that can attack Avid's biz at a higher level.
Harrison Murchison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2006, 07:22 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 243
Apple should just create a Toxik killer

Doesn't Apple pretty much already contain the tools to set this up?

Core Data is a liteweight database at the heart of OS X now. If that doesn't work then Apple can certainly utilize the code being worked on by subsidiary Filemaker.

Next shouldn't integrate XSAN into the Final Cut Suite? This would allow for file-locking concurrent access and the ability to manage your storage data on or across RAID Array.

Next look at this rumor

http://www.macosxrumors.com/articles...ive-documents/

If this is true then Apple may be adding the ability to collaborate with any other Mac on any file that would support this potential API. Soooo

Final Cut Studio Extreme with XSAN and a deeply embedded database with hooks into the OS X Core Data database all wrapped up in systemwide collaboration toolsets.

It'd take a few years to smooth out but man you get a few kick arse digital video mavens working in realtime and this suite would be worth i
Harrison Murchison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2006, 07:58 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
I have heard similar info as well.

Tom
Tom Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 06:50 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Sloan
Word on the street is that 4.2 will be the LAST version of Shake and that Apple is working on an all new product to replace it that is supposed to be well beyond what Shake is. That is JUST rumor though.
Did you mean 4.1? I have not heard about a planned update to Shake 4.1.

Different sources claim slightly different motives for Apple's decision to drop the price so drastically. The one detail they have in common, though, is that Apple is focusing efforts on a new compositing engine that will be released sometime in 2008 (or so).

Here's one source: http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2006/...19205409.shtml

It's not surprising, but some people have listed their "old" Apple Shake 4.0 on eBay for $1000 or more. One sneaky but sick lister has even listed the new universal binary version of Shake 4.1 for $1500.
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 09:21 AM   #21
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Moderator note: we had three threads on this topic which all pretty much covered the same ground, so they've all been combined here.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 12:15 PM   #22
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd Ostroff
Moderator note: we had three threads on this topic which all pretty much covered the same ground, so they've all been combined here.
I started to do this yesterday but wasn't quite sure just how to go about it. Thanks for cleaning this up.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2006, 09:58 AM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
A (very) little more information on the successor to Shake:

http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2006/...21173738.shtml
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2006, 04:46 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 30
Does anyone know if Shake 4.1 will run smoothly on the new Macbook?
Harrison Freedman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 08:33 AM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison Freedman
Does anyone know if Shake 4.1 will run smoothly on the new Macbook?
Harrison:

Shake will run on your new MacBook--I assume new means Intel-based. The new MacBooks have a sufficiently fast processor to run Shake. If you have the factory configured 512MB of memory installed, you will want to boost that up. The more the better.

Now, it will be difficult to answer whether Shake will run smoothly on your MacBook. It depends on many factors, possibly the most important [other than your definition of smoothly :) ] is the complexity of your composites.

Unlike most graphics packages these days, Shake does not directly take advantage of the GPU on your video card. It harnesses the power of the CPU almost exclusively since Shake is designed as a pipeline compositing application--it seamlessly feeds from and into other production applications. What this means is that many of your composites will have to be rendered first before you can see the results. The GPU is not utilized to offer realtime previewing of your composites as it is in FCP or Motion, for example.

Therefore, the faster your processor and the more processors you have, the better performance you will get and the faster render times. Adding more memory to your system helps with that of course. If you have more than one Macintosh on a network, then you can use Apple's Qmaster application (which comes with Shake) to distribute rendering duties across your machines.

I hope that helps.
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 10:10 AM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Sayre
Harrison:

Shake will run on your new MacBook--I assume new means Intel-based. The new MacBooks have a sufficiently fast processor to run Shake. If you have the factory configured 512MB of memory installed, you will want to boost that up. The more the better.

Now, it will be difficult to answer whether Shake will run smoothly on your MacBook. It depends on many factors, possibly the most important [other than your definition of smoothly :) ] is the complexity of your composites.

Unlike most graphics packages these days, Shake does not directly take advantage of the GPU on your video card. It harnesses the power of the CPU almost exclusively since Shake is designed as a pipeline compositing application--it seamlessly feeds from and into other production applications. What this means is that many of your composites will have to be rendered first before you can see the results. The GPU is not utilized to offer realtime previewing of your composites as it is in FCP or Motion, for example.

Therefore, the faster your processor and the more processors you have, the better performance you will get and the faster render times. Adding more memory to your system helps with that of course. If you have more than one Macintosh on a network, then you can use Apple's Qmaster application (which comes with Shake) to distribute rendering duties across your machines.

I hope that helps.
Yes thanks. I've got the Macbook 2.0ghz Intel/1GB RAM/100GB 7200RPM so even if I have to wait lengths of time for renders it still will be useful.
Harrison Freedman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 02:04 PM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison Freedman
Yes thanks. I've got the Macbook 2.0ghz Intel/1GB RAM/100GB 7200RPM so even if I have to wait lengths of time for renders it still will be useful.
It sounds like you will have no problem. Shake is a wonderful application--have fun!
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network