Logo imported on FCP - blurry at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 7th, 2006, 05:34 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 9
Logo imported on FCP - blurry

I imported a logo from photoshop to Livetype without resizing it and used it as part of my lower thirds. Everything looked great in Livetype. But when I dropped the lower third on the FCP timeline, the logo appeared blurry.

Does anyone know of a simple solution to this?

Thanks for your help in advance!
__________________
Carol Gancia
Layaco Promotional Media
inform. educate. inspire.
Carol Gancia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2006, 10:23 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
I know that FCP doesn't display at the highest quality. When you export it and display it at High Quality, is it right?
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 12:17 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 9
logo over video exported in fcp but still with jagged edges

It is of much better quality after being exported but the logo shows jagged edges this time.

Does anyone know what to do about this problem?

Thank you for your help in advance!
__________________
Carol Gancia
Layaco Promotional Media
inform. educate. inspire.
Carol Gancia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 02:52 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carol Gancia
It is of much better quality after being exported but the logo shows jagged edges this time.

Does anyone know what to do about this problem?

Thank you for your help in advance!
Apply a 'slight blur' to the logo track in FCP. That's how a lot of rolling credits are done so that they don't flicker in alternating flelds as they move up the screen. Should help with the jaggies also.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 03:29 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 9
brought the project to Motion - logo still jagged when back to fcp

Thanks, Greg. I will try applying the slight blur.

In the meantime, what I did was bring the livetype file to Motion and apply the logo over the livetype in Motion. I imported both the completed motion project to fcp and the exported quicktime version of it. Unfortunately, both still have the jagged edges on the logo.
__________________
Carol Gancia
Layaco Promotional Media
inform. educate. inspire.
Carol Gancia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 03:40 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
What codec are you working in? I know that if I make something in Motion at the DV settings it looks great in Motion, but if I actually run it through the DV codec, either by rendering it in a DV sequence in final cut or exporting it directly, I get very disappointed with the sharpness and aliasing. If it's at all an option for what you're working on, I would suggest rendering out of Motion with the Animation codec (the Lossless setting on export) and not running it through DV. Of course if you're not working in DV then I've just wasted a couple minutes of your time. :)
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 05:08 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 9
Thank you

The slight blur on the logo track helped reduce the pixellation but didn't really eliminate it completely. I exported the whole video and burned it on DVD to see if by some miracle, the pixellation won't be visible anymore. Someone said that sometimes, the problem is just within fcp. If that doesn't work, I will try the animation codec.
__________________
Carol Gancia
Layaco Promotional Media
inform. educate. inspire.
Carol Gancia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 11:43 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
Are you only seeing the aliasing in the canvas window in FCP or are you seeing it on your external video? If it's just in the canvas then I wouldn't worry about it until you look at external video. But if you see it on your external video then you're going to see it on DVD.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network