Mac Book Pro and FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2006, 10:39 PM   #1
2nd Unit TV
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 509
Mac Book Pro and FCP

We're thinking of adding another mobile editing system to 2nd Unit and, having been a PC person for so long, I don't know much about Macs. Can anyone tell me if the new Mac Book Pro 17" with 2G RAM will run FCP in HD/HDV well? And can you give me your opinions on performance and best configurations?
Jonathan Ames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 10:56 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Ames
We're thinking of adding another mobile editing system to 2nd Unit and, having been a PC person for so long, I don't know much about Macs. Can anyone tell me if the new Mac Book Pro 17" with 2G RAM will run FCP in HD/HDV well? And can you give me your opinions on performance and best configurations?
How about yes? Performance? That's a question depending on your needs.
24p in HDV is a workable chore at the moment but 30p and 60i are easy. DVCProHD someone else will have to answer but I am using a MacBook Pro 15" with a second monitor and 2g Ram and it's working great with HDV. Realtime color correction too.

Unfortunately Express card eSATA options haven't arrived yet. I would recommend upgrading the graphics card memory to 512mb.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2006, 06:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westminster MD
Posts: 44
Jonathan,

I asked a similar question recently, and received answers from several folks who use a MacBook Pro/FCP with good results. Be aware, however, that the workaround to get 720/24p footage into FCP is, shall we say, draining. It took my editors (very experienced) several days to find a decent workaround to conform the footage so we could edit in FCP. One thing I'm going to do is load Windows XP Pro on it, and have both FCP and PP 2.0 on hand. The PP 2.0 solution, with Cineform, is about 1,000 times easier.
Keith Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2006, 09:06 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
Jonathan:

I was out last night so I did not see your email until this morning. I sent you an email in response. I assume your email was regarding the question you posted in this thread.

Either way, I'll give you call at 8 PST/11 EST.
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com

Last edited by Jeff Sayre; July 11th, 2006 at 10:11 AM.
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 12:12 PM   #5
2nd Unit TV
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 509
Thanks, Jeff. Got your message and it really helped. We were shooting until the wee hours. I'm looking forward to the Pro Book as Paolo is tutoring me on it right now. It really is the Mercedes of the computer world.
Jonathan Ames is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network