FC Express HD 3.5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 9th, 2006, 10:55 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dammeron Valley, UT
Posts: 15
FC Express HD 3.5

Is anyone editing HDV using FCE HD 3.5 on an iMac? Preferebly an Intel iMac but any experience and comments welcome pertaining to FCE/HDV on iMacs. I have asked this question on a number of forums with no response of actual experience. I am contemplating purchasing a 2.0GHz iMac, 2 GB memory, a second 20 inch screen, I currently use external Firewire HDDs with a G4 dual 800 FCP3. A price comparison with a new Mac Pro is that the iMac set up costs $3400 and a MacPro with an upgrade to FCSuite is $6,000. Yes, I know there is a big performance difference but I don't need all that and $2600 is a good contribution to an HDV camera. Comments, suggestions, advice welcome,


Ned C
Ned Cordery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2006, 02:16 AM   #2
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bad Waldsee, Germany
Posts: 3
Performance makes the different


the performance is the importantst different, and when you are cutting on external FW400 drives, there is no further different. When you buy an MacPro, I suggest to use an internal 500 GB serial ATA harddisc for video. This speeds up the editing dramatically. For example: All CGM effects are running in realtime on the MacPro 2,66 GHz. On the Macbook Pro 1,83 GHz Intel Duo some of them are not running seamlessly in realtime. And when you are working in HDV, the render performance is very important. When you cut a movie, the whole movie has to be recoded before you put it back to a HDV reel.

I hope that helps.

All the best,
FCP Plugins by CGM, www.cgm-online.com
Klaus Eiperle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2006, 11:50 AM   #3
New Boot
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dammeron Valley, UT
Posts: 15
Editing HDV with FCE on an iMac

Thanks for your information but it does not answer my questions. I asked aoutr FC Express on Intel an iMac can you provide any thoughts on this


Ned C.
Ned Cordery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 02:48 AM   #4
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bad Waldsee, Germany
Posts: 3
Hi Ned,

if you like to upgrade to Final Cut Studio, I would buy an Mac Pro. Because with this machine, you get a much better graphic card, which you need for Motion. The iMac graphic card uses the computer memory because has no own memory. This is a very heavy loss of Motion previewing speed.

And if you like to work with Final Cut Express 3.5, you can buy an iMac.

If you like to work in HD, I would prefer the Mac Pro. First you can work with FCE 3.5 on the Mac Pro and later you can upgrade to Final Cut Studio.

I hope that helps,

FCP Plugins by CGM, www.cgm-online.com
Klaus Eiperle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 06:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: brighon uk
Posts: 55
Ned, i am using fce hd 3.5 on an intel dual core 2gig 20 inch imac with 2g ram.

I am not sure i can be very hepful to you though as im inexperienced both with macs and fce.

I have fce installed on the internal 250gb drive and have captured hdv footage from a sony fx1 onto the same drive.

Im not very far forward with my project but the first thing i noted was that playing clips was far from smooth....i'd use the word 'jerky' to describe the appearance of panning shots. Now i believe this could be attributed to various things like using the cams image stabiliser when shooting, or simply the interlacing.......but my hunch is that its to do with the performance of my system. Klaus responded to you referring to imacs 'heavy loss of motion previewing speed'. Maybe this is it! Anyway, it is difficult to assess clips for how well i shot them and if they contain bumps and wobbles.......i play a clip several times and it varies so i reach an opinion based on mutiple viewings.....somewhat slow and tedious and a generally unacceptable way to continue.

I'm keen to add an external drive to capture footage but i dont know if it will help this particular issue.

i havent had time to pursue answers and solutions to the poor playback...or even establish if its actually normal, so please just take this as an uninformed first opinion...not a condemnation of the imac/fcehd combi'.
Michael Donne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 10:02 AM   #6
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 226
A question about capturing HD with the FCE 3.5 HD on an Intel mac.

I have a G5 1.6 mac, FCE 3.0 HD, and an HDR-HC1. HD capture is about 40% real time, but works. My problem is the scene detection and cutting the front and back off of clips. I'm consistantly losing at least 5 seconds of video off of each end of each clip. Some of the material I shot happened pretty quick, so I cut the camera off quickly after each shot. Being unable to capture the whole clip is a real problem.

I know this is how the program captures and handles video using the AIC, but I would like to know if the newer version of the software and a faster computer would shorten the "lost" video from each clip.
Jason Lowe is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network