Hint needed to cut away a pause in FCP 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 18th, 2006, 05:22 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vittsjö, SKÅNE, SWEDEN
Posts: 266
Hint needed to cut away a pause in FCP 5

Sorry to ask this silly question but I don't know the best way:

How do I get rid of a pause or lip smack in an audio track in FCP 5.1?
I know this is really basic but I probably make it too complicated.

I have a clip where a portion in the middle has to be removed. Do I have to add an edit after the pause (using the viewer to locate the right place precisely and mark), use "Make independetn Clip"on the second part and change name and then use the roll tool to move the last part to the left in the timeline to extinguish the pause? Then store it in a new sequense to use it as a new assembled clip for the video.
Or is there a way more simple way to just mark and delite a middle part in a clip? Thankful if some experienced can chime in! /Johan

Last edited by Johan Forssblad; August 18th, 2006 at 07:28 AM.
Johan Forssblad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2006, 10:40 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan Forssblad
Sorry to ask this silly question but I don't know the best way:

How do I get rid of a pause or lip smack in an audio track in FCP 5.1?
I know this is really basic but I probably make it too complicated.

I have a clip where a portion in the middle has to be removed. Do I have to add an edit after the pause (using the viewer to locate the right place precisely and mark), use "Make independetn Clip"on the second part and change name and then use the roll tool to move the last part to the left in the timeline to extinguish the pause? Then store it in a new sequense to use it as a new assembled clip for the video.
Or is there a way more simple way to just mark and delite a middle part in a clip? Thankful if some experienced can chime in! /Johan
How about lowering the audio on the lip smack and placing some room tone on the ajacent audio tracks if the temporary change in audio is noticable?

Remove a pause? Just use the razor blade tool cut the pause out and pull the clip together. Either put a cut away shot over the jump cut or do a shot dissolve to soften the jump cut.

The complicated method you describe makes me wonder if you are trying to do something I don't understand from the description.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 11:01 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basel area, Switzerland
Posts: 285
That's probably not exactly the answer to what you asked, but Soundtrack Pro can beautifully get rid of lip smacks (either with the 'Clicks and Pops'-filter or by replacing the smack with ambient noise).

HTH,

Ron
__________________
Ronald P. Pfister
halimedia - digital solutions and services
www.halimedia.com
Ron Pfister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 03:31 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan Forssblad
Sorry to ask this silly question but I don't know the best way:

How do I get rid of a pause or lip smack in an audio track in FCP 5.1?
I know this is really basic but I probably make it too complicated.

I have a clip where a portion in the middle has to be removed. Do I have to add an edit after the pause (using the viewer to locate the right place precisely and mark), use "Make independetn Clip"on the second part and change name and then use the roll tool to move the last part to the left in the timeline to extinguish the pause? Then store it in a new sequense to use it as a new assembled clip for the video.
Or is there a way more simple way to just mark and delite a middle part in a clip? Thankful if some experienced can chime in! /Johan
Johan, I re-read your question and it sounds like you simply want to make a cut (ripple-delete) edit.

As a precaution, press CMD(Apple)+D to "deselect" all clips.
Mark and IN and OUT on your timeline around the spot you want to remove, then use SHIFT+DELETE to remove and close the gap simultaneously. This is simply known as a "cut" and is the founding principle of non-linear editing, and why it is so much more powerful than linear tape to tape editing.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network