FCP "unexpectedly quit" at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 4th, 2003, 01:51 AM   #1
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
FCP "unexpectedly quit"

..."your system and other applications remain unaffected."

That's the message I get every time I try to start up FCP. It gets past the confirmation for external devices (I've tried it with the a device connected and disconnected then clicking "continue")...and either way, it starts to show the canvas and preview windows and when it gets to the point where the timeline should appear...zap! It closes.

Any thoughts on how I can get past this problem?
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 02:02 AM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Eeww!

It may be time to try the old, time-honored cleansing ceremony of "Pitching Ye Old Preferences". It's FCP's version of "just give it a good whack".

/users/(name)/Library/Preferences/Final Cut Pro User Data/Final Cut Pro 3.0 Preferences (and "Final Cut Pro MOA Cache")
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 02:07 AM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Actually, I think I found the reason...but I still need some advice.

Before this problem, I'd been making an end credits sequence. The credits are bilingual, English and Japanese, and I used CenturyGothic and Osaka fonts (two of my mainstays).

Having given up no FCP for the moment, I went to a PhotoShop project that I've been working on that uses both Osaka and CenturyGothic fonts, too. But when I tried to open the graphic, it said "Fonts cannot be found."

So, I went to the system fonts directory...and they're gone! Not in the trash...and nowhere to be found with search.

I have an extra copy of Osaka, but when I tried to put it in the fonts folder, it says "Fonts folder cannot be altered" and won't accept it.

I don't have an extra copy of CenturyGothic...not without reinstalling the system.

Double groan. I'm considering the Dylan-method of stress management...curl up in a ball and cry.

Any advice?
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 02:19 AM   #4
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
That -is- quite a puzzle. You should be able to just drag font files into /Library/Fonts. Perhaps try logging in as "root" to add Osaka back?

I'd be happy to send you Century Gothic, but I don't have it (at least on my PowerBook). I'll check my desktop in the morning.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 02:40 AM   #5
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
I found a copy of CenturyGothic...turns out it's a Microsoft Office font.

Plus, I reset the priveleges and was able to put both fonts back into the fonts directory.

My PhotoShop file opens properly now, but FCP was still crashing, so I bit the bullet and pulled out the prefs and MOA file. FCP will start up now...but I'm kind of nervous about opening up that same end credits project. Oh well...here goes...
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 02:53 AM   #6
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
...and just to report back...the end credits work fine now.

Strange...what could've eaten those fonts? There wasn't a crash or anything. I just closed FCP, then when I tried to reopen it later, it wouldn't. And the fonts were gone.

Scary.

Jeff, Ken ...this brings to mind another question. While I was digging through disks looking for a replacement Century Gothic font, I came across a disk I have that has hundreds of fonts. I got it with a clip art collection I bought a few years back. The thing is, it doesn't have a font viewer. So, the only way I can check them out is to drag them into the fonts folder in groups, restart, and check them out.

Is there a font viewer app for the Mac that you know of that will allow me to preview fonts NOT in the system font directory? Seems all those freebie font viewers on the Apple OSX site either only allow you to see fonts in the "official" fonts folder, or allow you to install them into it. Nothing just for previewing any folder of fonts.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 05:43 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
It was either that or living next door to the IBM building has given your Mac PCitis.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 06:46 AM   #8
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Ironic isn't it? A die-hard Mac guy living on the actual grounds of IBM plaza.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 07:04 AM   #9
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
FontBook defaults to the font folder, but has an option to view fonts in any location. I think it is a great viewer, designed for professional use. It is a $10 shareware program. I find bitmap fonts can make it crash.

Sort of on the same line I have found a great interactive spell checker that even works in the browser while I'm writing this. It is called Spell Catcher and is a commercial program. It is available from Casady & Greene for $40.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 08:08 AM   #10
ChorizoSmells
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 424
John,
I did a video for a friend who has a PAL sony camera, after I set FCP to PAL settings and did the video, after that if I tried to make a still from the video or when I opened a clip in the viewer, all I got was a white screen. After trashing the prefs FCP was okay again, still don't know what caused it.
__________________
ChorizoSmells Video
Barrio Tamatsukuri, Osaka, JAPAN
Rik Sanchez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network