cleaning a mac with fcp 5 installed at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 24th, 2006, 05:42 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
cleaning a mac with fcp 5 installed

Hi there,
Iv'e read in the past that installing Norton Utilities on your mac when fcp is installed is a surefire disaster.... Is this still the case? I really need to do some house keeping on my mac..... ( if it were a house it would be a hovel of junk)..... and i am too scared of stuffing up my fcp projects.

Is this still the case with Norton or what can i use? I am on a g4 imac runnning fcp5....

Thanks for any advice

Craig D
Craig Donaldson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 07:07 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
What exactly do you need Norton Utilities for? I do my housekeeping with MacJanitor (freeware), Disk Utility (included) and FCP Rescue (freeware). If something really went bad, you could rebuild the directory with DiskWarrior. That's not free, but it's effective. There's not too much you need to do with Mac OS besides trashing preference files, running the cron scripts and repairing the file permissions. Is there something specific you need from Norton?
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2006, 03:58 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
No not really iv'e just used it in the past and dont really know much else about it all. But, i will look into mac janitor.... Thanks for that
Basically my computer keeps freezing, programs quittig unexpectedly and a disc stuck in the drive, doesnt even recognise it...... it's a few years old and going senile i think...
Craig Donaldson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2006, 08:32 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Personally I've s stayed away from Norton ever since OS X came out. It always seemed buggy to me, but I can't point to anything specific so maybe I'm just prejudiced.

I've never had the need to "clean" one of my Macs on a regular basis. What verson of OS X are you on? If you're having problems and want to invest a little time, you might want to start all over again with a clean install of the latest version (10.4.6 I think?). You will need an external hard drive at least as large as your internal drive. Use one of the many utillity programs out there to clone your internal drive for starters. Then reformat the internal drive and install OS X from scratch. If you're really having a lot of strange problems then reinstall each of your applications from the original disks. Finally you can migrate your files using the OSX utility. It's time consuming but probably the best way to make sure everything is where it should be. If you have problems with the new install you can always boot of your external clone until you resolve them.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2006, 03:12 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
i think a lobotomy may be the only answer for this imac
Craig Donaldson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network