FCP 5.1.2 NOW AVAILABLE with 720P24 & 720P25 native support - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 26th, 2006, 07:47 PM   #31
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Benner
I have 5.1.1

Ran it from the software update menu. Program will not open and Cinema Tools is gone. I tried re-downloading it from the Apple website and it did nothing. The program tries to open and then has a fatal error and closes.

The Apple Support Message Boards are down currently. Does anyone know who I can talk to at Apple?
It is weird that the Apple FCP forum is down. I just checked and it is still down.

Has v5.1.1 worked properly for you in the past?
Have you always used Software Update to perform updates?
Are you running OS X 10.4.7?
Are you running Quicktime 7.1.3?

A fresh re-install from the original FCP 5.1 discs might fix it all for you.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 07:53 PM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
It is weird that the Apple FCP forum is down. I just checked and it is still down.

Has v5.1.1 worked properly for you in the past?
Have you always used Software Update to perform updates?
Are you running OS X 10.4.7?
Are you running Quicktime 7.1.3?

A fresh re-install from the original discs might fix it all.
I just checked the forums, and they are back online.
Carl Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 08:10 PM   #33
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Downloaded it. It works. Noticed something interesting.

Take a look at the video scopes while running the timeline.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 08:12 PM   #34
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
I am just going to do a re-install and see what happens. Thanks for the help, and yes, 5.1.1 worked flawlessly.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 08:40 PM   #35
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Hohauser
Take a look at the video scopes while running the timeline.
This is great. The scopes now do live updating!

There's a whole load of improvements in this area. More info in the "Late Breaking News" document.
http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Fin..._5.0_lbn_z.pdf
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 08:48 PM   #36
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
This is great. The scopes now do live updating!
God I wish I could see that for myself....One other person on the Apple forum apparently has the same problem, but I have no idea how Apple is going to fix my problem.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 09:03 PM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
AVID codecs caused the crash of FCP 5.1.2

Someone figured out the problem and it has to do with conflictions between FCP and the Avid Quicktime Codecs. I deleted the quicktime codecs and FCP opened. Now someone has to come up with an answer for the Avid codec problem, but it is a next step.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 12:55 AM   #38
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 883
Will this work natively with the DR-100?
__________________
Visit me and my work at www.artofduke.com
Brian Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 12:58 AM   #39
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Duke
Will this work natively with the DR-100?
I haven't tested that yet. When I did try to capture 720P24 as quicktime with the DR-HD100 (about a month ago)the files were still flagged as 29.97 frame rates, even though the software kept only the 24 frames. Cinema Tools was unable to conform the frame rate down to 23.98 because it was a HDV file.

I'm sure Focus will work on a 24P solution for FCP now that the update has been released. Representatives of theirs have said this repeatedly.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 03:24 AM   #40
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Jaco
My question is.....did apple fix the capture problem where we loose 4 seconds between each clip w/ scene detection?
Well the 24p works fine but the 4-6 second gaps keep happening between subclips. There is no AIC for 720/24p either so you are screwed. Just make sure to pre-roll all your clips if you are going to shot 24p.

Looks like I'll still be using AIC 720/30p
Scott Jaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 05:00 AM   #41
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 140
How can it be?!

After updating, when capturing 720p25, I still lose about 5 seconds on the beginning of each new clip. I knew this happened with 720p30 before, but i supposed it's now fixed... how come is this happening in 720p25... my camera has recently been on the repair bench and has probably some of the latest firmware version... it's a GY-HD100E.

Scott, you said: "make sure to pre-roll all your clips if you are going to shot 24p" - when shooting events that's not always possible, and even when it is, 1 second to be lost would already be too much.
Any workaround to avoid losing footage (and I thought I was now free from workarounds).

Thanks!
Sergio Barbosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 06:03 AM   #42
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood

I'm sure Focus will work on a 24P solution for FCP now that the update has been released. Representatives of theirs have said this repeatedly.
From Matt McEwen:

"we hope to add support for QuickTime with 720p/24 as soon as possible....this will be a maintenence release"

This means that if you purchased the Quicktime 30P update you will not have to pay for the 24P update. Considering Focus already knows how to wrap the file correctly now, I imagine this update should come fairly quick, but again that is a guess.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 06:15 AM   #43
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Benner
Someone figured out the problem and it has to do with conflictions between FCP and the Avid Quicktime Codecs. I deleted the quicktime codecs and FCP opened. Now someone has to come up with an answer for the Avid codec problem, but it is a next step.
Aaaaaaaargh!
Antony Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 10:20 AM   #44
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 755
Aside from the missing 5 seconds (which indeed could be quite a problem) this is good news...saying that, my iMac and FCP studio has still not arrived almost 2 weeks since ordering :(
Is it pretty much essential to purchase quicktime pro then folks?
David Scattergood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 10:41 AM   #45
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Scattergood
Is it pretty much essential to purchase quicktime pro then folks?
Quicktime Pro 7 comes bundled with Final Cut Studio!
Sergio Barbosa is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network