Capture Time and Date on Final Cut Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2006, 06:23 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 14
Capture Time and Date on Final Cut Pro

Sorry if this question is elementary in nature. I'm still a newbie!

I shot an instructional video using two different cameras, and now I'm having a heck of a time trying to get them to match up. Camera A, which I was manning, has tons of cuts, while Camera B, a static camera, just ran pretty much non-stop. Now I'm trying to cut back and forth and I don't even know where to begin.

I know iMovie is able to capture info from the camera, so if you 2x clicked on a clip in the timeline, it'll say the time and date it was captured. So I thought if that was possible in Final Cut, it would be less painful to edit my unorganized footage. But searching through Google and these forums have come up zilch.

Any low-cost suggestions? Thanks.
__________________
Death I'm not afraid of. Dropouts in my video scare me.
Nicky Loi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 10:32 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 63
Hello,

Final Cut Pro's multicam feature could easily handle cuts from both your sources. You'd have to line up each clip using in points first, but it works even if your timecode isn't in sync. You'll have to re-sync the two clips (Cam A and B) and make a new multicam clip each time your A camcorder stops and starts timecode. A lot of work, but the multicam workflow benifits are all worth it. iMovie doesn't have a multicam feature. As far as the date and time thing goes, I don't know. I've only had to add timecode burns to clips, never a date and time. I hope this helps,

CJ Rogers
Cale Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 01:04 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Nicky,

I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but you do indeed have a bit of a mess on your hands. The time and date info that you're referring to, FCP does not read.

Cale is correct that the multicam feature could be of some use, but without matching timecode on both tapes, I'm not sure how his solution could work. Multicam/multiclip has a rigid set of criteria for it to be able to work, and I think he's overlooked some things.

The only thing I can suggest is to lay your master shot on a timeline, and then lay in each clip from the sporadic second camera above it. And yes, you're just going to have to sync by eye and ear. If you've never done it before, you've got your work cut out for you.

At that point, cutting between the two cams is just a matter of blading the second camera and removing material.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network