Default Transition Length? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 4th, 2006, 10:37 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Timonium, MD
Posts: 142
Default Transition Length?

Okay, so this is such a 101-level question, but I can't figure out how to change the default length from 30 frames to 15 frames on the default transition... the one that gets applied with the (apple button+T). I can change the default transition, but the time is throwing me.

Otherwise, the "transition" from Vegas to FCP has been pretty painless thus far. But I do miss being able to overlap two clips and have the transition apply and adjust accordingly like it does in Vegas.

Thanks.
Jeff Krepner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2006, 11:31 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 206
If you are talking about FCP:

If you want to change the length of a transition, you can do so in the effects tab. Find the transition you want and double click on the duration and it will allow you to set it.

If you want to change the length of a transition in the timeline, just double click and set the new duration.

I hope that helps.
__________________
www.CodemanStudios.com
Cody Lucido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2006, 12:30 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 561
Jeff,

I am not at my Mac to try it out, but have you tried the following options:

- Create a "favorite" transition in the "Effects" tab of the browser by dragging a customized transition of the desired duration from a sequence into the "Favorites" bin. You should then be able to make this customized tranisition your default transition.

- Not quite as powerful, but maybe still useful: you can copy and paste transitions in a sequence, including the duration information. Of course, if you copy or cut anything else into the clipboard, your tranisition needs to be re-copied, but depending on the circumstances it may help.

Good luck!

- Martin
Martin Pauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2006, 12:43 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Timonium, MD
Posts: 142
Martin, I'll try later when I get in front of the Mac, but I think that will work. I tried to set the length of the standard crossdisolve to 15 frames then saved it as my default transition, but I didn't move it to the favorites folder first.

Cody, sorry I wasn't clear. Yes, in FCP. I'm fine with changing the length of transitions, but I was referring to the default transition that gets applied when you right click between clips and apply transition. The darn thing defaults to 30 frames, and that's too much for my taste and I'm working on a project where the client wants 15 frame dissolves. I'm just too lazy to change each one in the sequence by hand and it's challenging for me figuring stuff out going from Vegas on PC to FCP on Mac.

Thanks everyone.

Jeff
Jeff Krepner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2006, 03:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 335
Transition Lengths in FCP

Here's how I do it. Make your dissolve transition between desired clips. Right click and change duration to lets say ":10 frames" then hit enter. Then click and drag the modified dissolve from the sequence to your "Favorites Folder" in the effects tab. Let go. It then shows up in there as a 10 frame dissolve "right click" select as "Default Transition". Now your default transition is a 10 frame dissolve. You can save all your favorite transition lengths in there without messing with the original transitions. This is nice if other people use the system so your preferences don't mess with theres.
__________________
Jeff Zimmerman Colorado DP Videographer
Sony PXW-FS7 www.m3films.com
Jeff Zimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 04:23 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 55
From the timeline

you can also drag modified transitions from the timeline by dragging them from the timeline to the favorites bin. So if you want to change a dip to color which I think is defaulted at black at 30 frames, you can drop it in the timeline and change it to another color at 20 frames then drag that into your favorites, that's how I do it.
Eric Dyer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network