Mind bender! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 10th, 2006, 02:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 152
Mind bender!

Hi

I am using an external Firewire 800 drive as my scratch disk. However, when I turn on my dv camcorder FCP doesn't recognise it and the drive light on my external drive goes nuts and stays nuts until I turn the camera off.

If I set scratch to the internal disk this problem goes away.

Slowly losing sanity. Ideas appreciated!

Thanks

Trevor
Trevor Allin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 07:17 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Espa - Norway
Posts: 151
Has this ever worked?
1 - Check your cabeles

How do you hook up?
Have you tried taking the cam through the disk?
What computer are you on?

Gunleik
__________________
Red? Sure!
Gunleik Groven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 08:26 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
FireWire is a bus. Please forgive this play on words, but all devices which connect by FireWire are basically scrambling for seats on this city bus. DV camcorders always want to be first. The camcorder says to the computer, "I've got first place on this thing or I'm not riding it at all." And the computer says, okay, as long as nobody else wants it, you can have it. Along comes your FW800 drive, hopping on the bus. Guess what, it also wants that coveted first place on the FireWire chain. The camcorder says, "not so fast, that's my seat," and isn't about to vacate that position. But the FW drive doesn't give up so easily and continues to fight. You know how it's impossible to communicate with somebody who's already wrapped up in a heated argument?

Well, there's your problem. The camcorder isn't giving up its front seat, the FW drive continues to fight for it anyway, and the computer, which is driving the bus, is under strict orders to keep the bus moving, and don't stop for anything, not even this squabble between passengers, because it's more important to appease God (that's you) by keeping the bus moving. If the bus stops, then the system stops; which tends to incur the Wrath of God (that's you). The bus thinks, well, it's better to keep on driving even with this argument going on, at least somebody is sitting in the first seat, and I'm under orders not to stop anyway. So it pretty much ignores the FW800 drive. Thus... your trouble. The light going nuts on your FW800 drive indicates how frustrated it is, the camcorder says "ha ha, I win" and the computer is far too busy with more important things to worry about than to bother mediating this trivial distraction from such demanding passengers. After all, the computer must keep on driving the bus, in order to make God happy (that's you).

If there's a way you can assign a specific connection order value other than "1" to the FW drive, that would probably fix the issue. Maybe somebody here knows how to do that? Good luck,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 03:54 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor Allin
Hi

I am using an external Firewire 800 drive as my scratch disk. However, when I turn on my dv camcorder FCP doesn't recognise it and the drive light on my external drive goes nuts and stays nuts until I turn the camera off.

If I set scratch to the internal disk this problem goes away.

Slowly losing sanity. Ideas appreciated!

Thanks

Trevor
Describe the wire setup. Are the drive and camcorder sharing the same port?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2006, 01:51 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 152
Hi

Thanks for your help. The bus analagy was very helpful.

The hard drive is connected via a firewire 800. And the camera connects via a firewire 400 connection. Both have their own power supply.

I am using a Powermac G5 dual 2 gig with 4 Gig of RAM.

Thanks

Trevor
Trevor Allin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:18 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
OK, are you using the front FireWire 400 port for the camera? If so I suggest using the rear port instead.

I have the same computer with a FireWire 800 drive attached and I can attach a camera or deck without a problem. What brand drive and camera are you using?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2006, 05:36 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
The front and rear FW 400 ports on the G5 are on the same bus. If you cannot find the right order in which to connect the devices, get a firewire card to install. That will give you a separate bus for the camera and the drive.

I have 3 fw 400 drives daisey chained to one port on my Mac Mini and my camera is the last device in the chain. I don't have any problems with the setup.

The G5s at work are not so friendly. we had to install another fw card for drives and use the built in bus for capture with a AJA IO. I don't know this for sure but I don't think fw 800 works all that well on the G5. Granted ours are one of the first generations, but using the FW 800 drives on a 400 bus works fine.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 10:34 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Me:

Powermac G5 dual 2 gig -

firewire 800 connected to the back -

HV10/FX-1/Z1E all plumb into the little firewire port on the front and get on fine with FCP.

??
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 10:41 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
If you plug a FW400 device onto a bus that's running a FW800 device, the whole bus has to slow down to the slowest device.

I'll bet you wouldn't see all this commotion with your drive when plugging in the camera if it was a FW400 drive.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2006, 11:29 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
As coincidences go, a friend with a similar system has his deck in the 400 port and a 400 external plugged into the 800 port by an adapter cable. The external disappeared suddenly this week so I brought over a regular 400 cable and plugged it into the front and it came back. The 800 cable went bad as far as we can tell, the friend is getting a replacement cable so we'll see if the port is still OK.

What the point? Try a new cable or as other posters have recommended get an 800 board.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network