Trouble with HDV Capture in FCP 5.1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2006, 11:07 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oxford
Posts: 4
Trouble with HDV Capture in FCP 5.1

Hello all

I'm losing hair and going very tired over this one. The problem? Ok.

I am capturing Hi Def footage from a Sony HVR-Z1E camera onto Final Cut pro 5.1. The hard ware is a spanking new Macbook Pro: 2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo with 1GB DDR2 SDRAM. Presumably designed to work with the new Hi Def cameras.

The Problem?
Well, when I capture and drag the captured footage onto the time line on 'unlimited RT', a yello bar appears above the footage. I understand that. But what I don't understand is that the playhead judders over the footage and grinds to a halt. A dialogue box then appears which gives me a number of solutions: eg: try turning off Unlimited RT, etc, lower compression rate, etc. When I do this, and set it to 'Safe RT', the RED bar appears over the footage, which you probably know means that you can't view the picture because it needs rendering.

The computer I am running is surely fast enough to cope with Hi Def, isn't it? So what am I doing wrong?

I have the Audiio/Video Settings set to:
Sequence Preset: HDV - 1080i50
Capture Preset: HDV
Device Control Preset: Sony HDV 1080i50 Firewire
Video Playback: None
Audio Playback: Default

This all seems correct to me, but clearly it isn't.

PLEASE HELP ME SOMEONE. I don't want to loose all of my hair.

Thank you.
Regards
Karl.
PS: I am happy to answer as many questions as you wish to deal out with this problem. And I really do appreciate all the help I can get.
Karl Ellison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2006, 11:14 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 416
Hi Karl.

Are you capturing to your one (and only) internal System hard disk?

You really need a separate hard disk to hold video footage - so that would mean a FireWire connected external HD.
__________________
Martin at HeadSpin HD on Blu-ray
Martin Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2006, 11:20 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Karl,

Your sequence settings are not identical to the footage you've captured. FCP is trying to convert your footage on the fly to something else (whatever the sequence is set to), and failing.

1-Delete the sequence you're working with now

2-Use the Easy Setup tool and choose whatever you shot your footage in.

3-Make a new sequence.

Sounds like you may have chosen the correct seq and capture settings AFTER the seq you were working in had been created...so the seq would be wrong.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2006, 11:40 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Thread title renamed from "Someone Please Help Me!!!!!!!!!!!!!" to "Trouble with HDV Capture in FCP 5.1"
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2006, 05:32 AM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oxford
Posts: 4
HD/FCP probs

Thank you all for your help. I haven't yet been able to try these suggestions, but will do so when I am back in the office.

Kind Regards
Karl.
PS: I am using an exterlan Lacie Hard Drive.
Karl Ellison is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network