Emergency FCP Output Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 21st, 2006, 05:56 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
Emergency FCP Output Question

Guys,

I have to output a n FCP project to Quicktime within one hour, and my editor is gone. Ick... I don't know this software.

I was trying to resolve a pixel ration problem when I came upon something worse:

Every cut in the edit shows up in the quicktime as maybe 4 black frames... like eyes blinking on every cut... I have to fix that.

Here are my output settings:

720 x 480 (NTSC DV 3:2)
aspect ratio : ntsc - CCIR 601 / DV (720 x 480)
field dominance : lower (even)
editing timebase (29.97
timecode rate: same as editing timebase

Video settings:
Compressor: DV/DVCPRO - NTSC
Quality 100%


The footage is off a SDX-900 in DVCPro 50 and 16x9.

So I have the picture a little squeezed horizontally, and the blinking edits...

Any suggestions would be much appreciated..

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2006, 06:04 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 206
I will do my best with the information you posted.

"Every cut in the edit shows up in the quicktime as maybe 4 black frames.."

This sounds like there might be space between the clips on the timeline. Just turn SNAP on and slide the clips together, you can also 'right click' on the space between the clips and 'close gap'

"So I have the picture a little squeezed horizontally..."

If you put your 16:9 sequence into a 4:3 sequence it will automatically letterbox it for you - it basicly adds a distort of -25 for you.

Let me know if you still need assistance.
__________________
www.CodemanStudios.com
Cody Lucido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2006, 06:16 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
Cody,

No, the black cuts are not in the project, and when I re-import the quicktime they are not in the MOV either, they are just displaying that way in playback... hmmmmm

I think I got the aspect ratio working, tx.
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network