Powerbook G4 1.5Ghz enough for HDV? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2006, 05:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE of London, England
Posts: 788
Powerbook G4 1.5Ghz enough for HDV?

My main FCP suite is a 2.66 quad core, but I want a laptop to do little bits of editing with clients and use when I am away with work.

A friend has offered me a Powerbook 1.5 GHz G4 for a decent price, but I was wondering if this was enough or should I go for a higher spec machine? I edit mainly DV and HDV. My main desktop would still do the bulk of my mpeg encoding etc. My main camera is a JVC HD101, so I mainly use 720p HDV, so would the 1.5GHz be enough?

Is anyone using a 1.5GHz G4 with FCP 5.1.2? If so, how does it perform?

Thanks!
Mike Marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 03:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vittsjö, SKÅNE, SWEDEN
Posts: 266
Hi Mike,
This is not an answer for you but could perhaps give you a little help.
I have a PowerBook G4, 1 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM and FCP 5.1.2 with external FW800 disk.
It cannot show HDV 1080i50 on more than 50 % frame size without dropping frames. 100 % is impossible (with external screen). So perhaps your 720 material with 1.5 GHz will be almost possible at 100 %.
I did some rendering in Compressor with very good quality for Internet. 3,5 minutes took a whole night to render. But it worked. If you have the money buy a new Pro Book, they just came out with the new CPU:s and increased the speed again. Or try the G4 first if it belongs to your friend and it is cheap.
Good luck whatever you decide. Even if you buy the fastest computer you could still appreciate 10 times faster when working with HDV ... /Johan
Johan Forssblad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 02:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 69
you've probably long since made your decision, but I am editing on the same laptop in DVCProHD 72024p and it's been as smooth as can be- w/2 gig RAM of course.
Brian Sargent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2006, 10:02 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 242
DVCPROHD works on a PowerBook!

I second Brian's comment. I've got a 15" PowerBook 1.67Ghz G4 with only 1GB of RAM running FCP 5.0.4 and I can easily cut DVCPROHD 1080/60i codec in full res using an external FW800 drive. No problems at all. I'd like to add more RAM, but so far the single Gig of RAM is working just fine.

Of course, I'm not an editor. I just use my minimal post knowledge to throw together cuts and tweaks of my reel. So I don't know how well my setup would function with a long form project. But for a small 5 to 10 minute piece, everything has been working perfectly!
Jon Fordham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network